Curried Wild Rice and Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
This was pretty good, but the orange juice was way too apparent. I would use less if we make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel & Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Great taste and texture. I did cut the orange juice in half because it felt like it was too much, and I'm glad I did. ALSO, I cut the rice in half too, and I'm so glad I did. With just half the wild rice, it was a dense, thick soup -- with twice as much I think it would be more like sloppy rice than soup! I have made the recipe once without the rice at all, and it makes for a nice, regular squash soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APCOOKING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marmora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
This dish is amazing. The flavor is a delicious mix of fall flavor and a hint of sweetness. I added some sauteed veggies to it after I blended the squash, juice, onions and garlic together. I think the extra chunks made the soup more hearty and last longer. We have a ton of squash left over from the harvest, so we'll be making this often. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dasunrisin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Yum! I have never made a squash soup before and this was great. Our OJ was expired so we put in more broth instead and it was fine. We also used a Cinderella pumpkin instead of butternut squash because that is what we had, and it was still great. We had some sour cream in the fridge and put a dollop on top which was tasty- not necessary, but good. *warning- be careful if you use a food processor because it filled ours so high it was leaking out the bottom and we had put it back in the pot and use one of those immersion blenders that you can put right in the soup pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Delicious! Makes great leftovers too. I followed the ingedient list, but cooked it the easy way - just threw everything in the slow cooker. Taking a cue from some slow cooker recipes with similar ingredients I put it on low for 8 hours and it came out great! The four is because I thought it needed some more flavor and so I mixed in more curry powder when it was done. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Elmore, Vermont, USA
Living In: Saitama, Saitama, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
My friends and family love this soup. I make it with vegetable broth so my vegetarian friends can enjoy it as well. I also added an extra cup of broth since it gets a bit thick when chilled. Even though I make a double batch, it doesn't seem to last very long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
This soup was different, but very good. I found the orange juice to add a nice flavor and didn't seem to think it overpowering at all. It's definitely thicker than I would have thought. For convenience I used a rice cooker for the wild rice and an immersion blender to puree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
This is pretty good. I used a buttercup squash and simmered the chunks in the chix broth/o.j. I sauteed the garlic (and some fresh ginger) separately and cooked the wild rice separately, so I still ended up using three pans, but that's okay. It pureed up nicely. I think my version might be a good Halloween soup, because I ended up using some purplish-black wild rise that I got at the Asian foods store awhile back. So I've got an orange soup with black rice floating in it. :) I also added a splash of sherry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
Had white rice and frozen squash, but no orange juice on hand. Substituted a splash of lemon juice. Also doubled the curry powder, used fresh chives instead of onions (we're all out), and added a shake of ginger, and a pinch of cinnamon & cayenne pepper. I had some heavy cream in the fridge & added about 1/3 cup. Creamy and delicious! I'll definitely play around with this to vary the flavor in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Love it! Healthy, hearty, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States