Curried Wild Rice and Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
I LOVED this soup! I don't usually cook with curry, because even though I like it, it scares me a little - just haven't worked with it enough. Thank you for such a nutritious soup! I did go ahead and add chopped red pepper, shredded carrot and chopped chicken. This is going into my rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
This was a unique variation for the average American cuisine. It's definitely different than other butternut squash recipes but in a good way. It reminded my husband of Peking Duck. I added 1/2 teaspoon of powder ginger to complete what I thought was teh missing ingredient. Also, I omitted black pepper and only used 1 teaspoon salt sicne we always cook with a little less salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndrewsCuteCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
YUMMO!!!! I had inadvertently over-cooked a spaghetti squash, so I went looking for what to with it. I adapted the recipe for what I have in the house: (smoked turkey broth from Christmas), dried onion and dried garlic, apple cider and ginger (per another reviewer). Then, in my infinite wisdom, over pureed it in the blender. It is currently looking a bit more like squash chowder, but DANG YO! it's AWESOME!!! I'm going to NOT add any rice, but make some quinoa on the side to serve the "chowder" on top of. I'm so psyched by my messed up spaghetti squash soup, that I might actually try to mess it up more often. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This recipe was ok, but a little more bland than I would expect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Sorry, but not liking this. The orange juice took an already sweet squash to an even more, unpalatable sweet taste. Soup had little flavor other than sweet mush. Won't be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
pretty good, my 11mo old gobbled up a whole bowl! it was a little orangey for me, i'd cut down on the oj or use half an apple maybe? also, a little bacon would make this to die for!***UPDATE used a granny smile apple instead of the OJ- DIVINE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I used a little more garlic and onion, and added about 1/4c half and half that I wanted to use up. This tastes good, and I really like the curry flavor with the wild rice texture. I might try apple juice instead of orange juice next time, just to see, but I dont' think the orange juice is bad. Reheats well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Great consistency and I think this could be delicious however, I agree with another reviewer's comments on the orange juice - it just does not work in this dish. I would try it again by eliminating the orange juice and substitute tomatoes instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grapefruit

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Really enjoyed this unique soup. Added some fresh Ginger and apples in place of orange juice. Put diced onion right in with the squash since you puree it anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
I just made a slightly altered version of this to suit some ingredients I wanted to use up. I added a can of navy beans, a few handfuls of fresh spinach, and a chopped jalapeno, and I substituted the chicken stock with Knorr veggie bouillon. I also used short-grain brown rice because I didn't have wild rice. This is a very tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Decatur, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States