Curried Stew with Lamb Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
This recipe is great if made with 3 TEAspoons of curry instead of TABLEspoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2004
This was wonderful -- I served it to my family for dinner and they raved about it. I brought it in to work the next day to share with co-workers, and many asked for the recipe. This will definitely be made again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
Although flavorful, 3 tablespoons of curry overwhelms the taste. This recipe is poorly written; it's not detailed enough. Also, adding 8 cups of broth at the end and simmering for only 5 minutes results in a soup, not a stew. I ended up thickening with cornstarch mixture. Recipe never says when to add slivered almonds, or that they should be toasted before adding. I would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2005
The yogurt curdles during the cooking process, the spices are too assertive, and the finished recipe is a liquid clumpy mess. Definitely not recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2006
i doubled the yoghurt, used rice as a side; only 2cups of stock(i used chicken it's all i had) Thickend the stew with a little flour and only used a couple of Teaspoons of curry - nice, will make again:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
It was OK. The marinade really didn't do much to flavor the meat and the overall stew wasn't very flavorful (though it could have been the type of curry used--I made it at my sister's). Folks seemed a little put off with the rice being IN the stew rather than the stew served over the rice--but this is easily done if desired. I was really hoping this would be great (the recipe looks yummy) but it was just OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
I used tsps of curry powder (not tbsp), 1 cup of vegetable broth, and put rice on the side. The currants made this dish delicious, otherwise it was just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
This recipe doesn't make sense. Either ingredients are missing or miss-proportioned or steps are incorrectly ordered. With enough alterations any recipe would be good but why bother trying to correct this tasteless ditty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
Needs salt to add flavour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
Good recipe, a lot like what I had at an Indian restaurant recently and was trying to duplicate. Traditional/authentic Indian food is very much spicier than what American tongues are used to. This is a very authentic recipe. If it's too hot for you, curry to taste. I think it's wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Lamb Stew

See how to make a traditional, hearty Irish stew.

Lamb Shank Vindaloo

See how to make a spicy, Indian-style curried lamb stew.

Lamb Tagine

Lamb is stewed in Moroccan spices until moist and tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States