Curried Stew with Lamb Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
This was great. I halved the recipe (and was unfortunately out of cayenne). I made my own broth by boiling lamb bones with other veggies the night before. The meat came out tender and delicious. I love curry flavored meals and did not think there was too much spice in this recipe. It was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Made this for my bro's 60 birthday lunch today. I basically stuck to the recipe (which was poorly worded) but here's where I did things a little differently: 1) I cooked the spices with the onions for the last minute or so - learned that from an Indian roomie. 2) Started with 1 Tablesp curry and added more as I tasted. I think I got up to 2 Tablesp by the end of cooking. 3) I added the currents in the last 1/2 hour, and the almonts at the very end. 4) I had 2 cups of stock prepared, but didn't add any at all 'til the very end of cooking, and even then, barely a cup. Maybe I had very juicy lamb. Didn't need anymore. Will definitely make this one again as soon as I have a festivity!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marian Paroo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Living In: Tel Aviv, Mehoz Tel-Aviv, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
I also used only 3 TEAspoons of curry, used only 2 cups of stock and served it over rice. Made this with chicken as well and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
Good recipe, a lot like what I had at an Indian restaurant recently and was trying to duplicate. Traditional/authentic Indian food is very much spicier than what American tongues are used to. This is a very authentic recipe. If it's too hot for you, curry to taste. I think it's wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
Needs salt to add flavour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
This recipe doesn't make sense. Either ingredients are missing or miss-proportioned or steps are incorrectly ordered. With enough alterations any recipe would be good but why bother trying to correct this tasteless ditty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
I used tsps of curry powder (not tbsp), 1 cup of vegetable broth, and put rice on the side. The currants made this dish delicious, otherwise it was just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
It was OK. The marinade really didn't do much to flavor the meat and the overall stew wasn't very flavorful (though it could have been the type of curry used--I made it at my sister's). Folks seemed a little put off with the rice being IN the stew rather than the stew served over the rice--but this is easily done if desired. I was really hoping this would be great (the recipe looks yummy) but it was just OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2006
i doubled the yoghurt, used rice as a side; only 2cups of stock(i used chicken it's all i had) Thickend the stew with a little flour and only used a couple of Teaspoons of curry - nice, will make again:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2005
The yogurt curdles during the cooking process, the spices are too assertive, and the finished recipe is a liquid clumpy mess. Definitely not recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Lamb Stew

See how to make a traditional, hearty Irish stew.

Lamb Shank Vindaloo

See how to make a spicy, Indian-style curried lamb stew.

Lamb Tagine

Lamb is stewed in Moroccan spices until moist and tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States