Curried Spinach Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
This was good and comforting. I made this for a sunday supper at a freinds and even the non veggies easters liked it. I love curry so that's probally why i liked this so much. I made a few minor changes, i sauteed yellow onions and garlic instead of the green onions and added a pinch of red pepper flakes. Instead of sour cream, I used non fat greek yogurt just because I like the taste better and its so healthy for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HealthyFoodLover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
This was such a great and simple soup! It was a snap to make with very few ingredients. I used an immersion blender to mix ingredients. Also, I added all ingredients to one pot (with the exception of the potatoes which I cooked separately). I will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIVEEVILLISA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
Delicious! RAVE reviews in our house. Used leeks in place of the green onion, and the flavor really came through in a nice way. This is one recipe where it's really important to taste and adjust seasonings several times throughout the process, as curry powder can vary widely in strength and quality depending on source (and age) of your curry. Start with half the curry and lemmon called for in the recipe, then add more to your taste. Lemon zest, rather than lots of lemon juice, worked well for me. One note: I got lazy with the spinach leaves and didn't stem them very well (using baby spinach, thought they'd be tender enough). They weren't; strings got all wrapped around my hand blender and I had to pull them out by hand :-( But the end soup was fantastic. Thanks for the recipe, & next time I won't be so lazy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gremlinhill

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wilton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
This is good. Next time I may add another potato and a bit more curry. I definately will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
This is definitely a good soup. Would be good for visitors. The lemon, I think, is a really nice touch. I used veg broth to make this a vegetarian dish. Easy & quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APCOOKING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marmora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
Not half bad for such a low cal recipe. I boiled some chopped celery with the potatoes and added a bit of yellow onion to the green onions and added a clove of garlic (all stuff I had that needed to be eaten before it went bad). For those not watching their weight as closely, a grilled cheese sandwitch is awesome along side this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktchristmas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KrazyKristi
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
Very good. I used coconut milk instead of sour cream and I threw in some Halibut chucks for the last five minutes. Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KrazyKristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenai, Alaska, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
WONDERFUL. It is even good without the sour cream. I have also added a little more curry for added spice. Everyone always raves about this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
There are a lot of flavors going on in this. I think it would have been better without the lemon and with more curry powder. I could barely taste it. Good for a low cal, low fat dish, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States