Curried Shrimp Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Great recipe! Wish I would have made a bigger pot! Added heavy cream and milk mixture because I didn't have light cream. Also added more curry powder because I love curry! Will definitely make this again but will double the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
So dreamy! Everyone ate it up, even the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Use Heavy Cream and forget the Brandy. My 12 year old said this was better than chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dieghton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
The ONLY change i made to this recipe - added 2 ounces of cooking sherry instead of brandy. (I don't understand how a person can rate a recipe after they changed the entire thing...and then only give it one star!) This bisque is AMAZING! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
This was excellent!!! I increased the curry powder, shrimp and added cayenne pepper for a kick. Also used coconut milk instead of cream. There was not a drop leftover this was such a hit! Also omitted the booze and drank my wine on the side instead. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I had to make a few substitutions due to a few food intolerance issues (dairy and gluten). I used olive oil in place of the butter, cornstarch for the flour and coconut milk for the cream. As so many have said that the brandy is overpowering, I also used cooking sherry. I didn't really like to flavors on this, perhaps because I couldn't really make a proper roux without butter and flour. Unfortunately, I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
This was a very good recipe. I didn't use the brandy and instead used cooking sherry before the flour. I used heavy whipping cream instead of the light cream. I also added a pinch of garam masala and garlic salt in the end to each serving because it needed a little something. Next time I will use only half the celery and substitute the green onions with fresh cilantro to give it a more authentic taste. Also, I think I will use a little more tomato paste. All very minor tweaks that made this good recipe great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
This recipe just didn't work for me. It wasn't bad, but it wasn't good. Everything I tried to do to improve it didn't work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
My hubby and I thought this recipe was okay. I made a few additions/substitutions on it. Omitted the celery and brandy. I added: bean sprouts, diced red bell pepper, cooked chicken (cut in small chunks) and some coconut milk. I also added more curry powder and paprika. I also used heavy cream. I used baby shrimp, instead of cutting up the bigger shrimps, which was a time saver. I thought this was good, but still wasn't quite what I would like it to be. We have a local Thai place and I couldn't help compare this recipe to theirs. I wished this was a bit more spicy. We put it over jasmine rice and there was plenty of juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
I thought this was perfect! I might try lobster next time but it was great with shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States