Curried Salmon Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Pretty good and darned easy. I did have to double the curry paste to get enough flavor, though. (I used massaman curry paste -- I wonder which kind the recipe writer used?) I also added a bit of garlic and salt, and garnished the finished dish with cilantro leaves and chopped peanuts. People who are substituting curry powder -- it is probably tasty in its own way, but curry powder isn't substitutable for curry paste. It's a different beast, really. Please don't rate this recipe low if you substitute curry powder and it doesn't work for you. I think the recipe's pretty forgiving, though. If you mix the spice with the sour cream and it tastes good at that point, it will probably make tasty fish. If it tastes bland at that point, add more spice! The basic technique works with other flavors, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
I'll first admit I used curry powder rather than paste. This recipe is great because it provides plenty of flavor without overwhelming the salmon with a more complex spice treatment. The fish is quite moist. The result of such a simple recipe is a less layered taste than a traditional Indian preparation, so serve this with basmati rice and the Easy Curried Cauliflower from this site, which has more "layers" and quite a kick, and call it a successful dinner. That's what I'll be doing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
I loved it! plus it's easy and fairly quick. My wife liked it but was less enthusiastic than I. As a beginning cook, I don't know what curry paste is. So I followed other suggestions and used curry powder. Ended up using 2 tsp for 1 cup sour cream. That was just the exact ratio for me, but a little bit strong for my wife.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Very good! I am always looking for new salmon recipes and I would never have thought to put these ingredients together. I used green curry paste, and probably quadrupled the amount. It was delicious with fresh cilantro sprinkled on top after baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodByLauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berkeley Heights, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Makes a pretty good meal. I had curry powder, so I heated up a bit of olive oil first, sauteed some leek and then mixed in about 2 Tbsp of curry until it turned into a paste. Mixed the paste into the sour cream and followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Made this recipe as per posted recipe but increased the curry. Turned out very nice, quite tasty and just spicy enough for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
This was pretty tasty. It was fast and simple. I subbed yogurt for the sour cream, and that was just fine. I think I quadrupled the curry paste, but I didn't keep track. I also added a touch of honey for some sweetness; It could have used some garlic powder and lime juice but I didn't have any. All in all, this was something I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Boring. Even though I doubled the red curry paste, added coriander, salt and pepper, this was still too flat tasting. Won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
Very tasty! I used thai red curry paste and substituted plain low fat yoghurt for the sour cream to lower the fat content. I might increase the curry paste next time for more 'bite' but the salmon was moist and full of flavour.. A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandton, Gauteng, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
What a great idea. Since first making this, I've used the stuff-in-sour-cream concept several times--like with garlic and herbs, chopped jalapenos, whatever--and it always turns out great. I do prefer anything with curry in the name to be a little spicier, so we added extra curry paste (much better with paste than powder) and garlic. But anything with three ingredients that tastes really good is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Baked Salmon II

See a straightforward, 5-star recipe for making baked salmon.

How to Make Salmon in Parchment

See how to make a moist salmon fillet baked in parchment paper.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States