Curried Salmon Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
I made this but didn't have curry paste and instead substituted with curry powder. I mixed it in with the sour cream until the mixture tasted right. And it was delicious! Such a simple recipe and so tasty. The fish was moist and full of flavor. Thank you for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
Oh my gosh! This dish was heaven from the sea. I've been eating fish and shellfish for the past 3 months and was running out of recipes. This dish added a lot of spice to my pescetarian lifestyle. With every bite my tastebuds bursted with flavor. This baked curried fish was quite delectable! You MUST try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
First of call, thank you to the 1,300 plus members who have saved this recipe, and for those who have taken the time to recreate and review. Here is a bit of clarifying information re some differences between curry 'paste' which my recipe calls for, and curry 'powder'. I created this very simple recipe using Yellow Curry Paste. The brand name I prefer is Mae Ploy, a well-known Thai brand. Here is the ingredients list: Garlic, lemongrass, shot, dried red chile, salt, galanga, cumin, cinnamon, star anise, tumeric, kaffir lime peep and coriander seed. On the other hand, a typical curry powder, McCormick's is the most widely used one here in the U.S. contains: Coriander, fenugreek, tumeric, cumin, black pepper, bay leaves, celery seed, nutmeg, cloves, onion, redd pepper and ginger. Very different products, and like apples to oranges when comparing the 'right' amount to use. McCormick suggests 2 teaspoons for a standard 4 serving recipe as a jumping off point, however this particular recipe was not formulated using the quite different tasting powder. Call it a pet peeve, but I will never down-rate a recipe as being 'too mild' or 'too plain' or 'not enough flavor/heat etc' when substitutions have been made, as in the case of paste vs powder. Yogurt is a great sub for the sour cream, and I have made it with both regular and lowfat sour cream as well as lowfat plain (regular and Greek) yogurt and found it quite good. Hopefully this claification will be of help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KCFOXY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Curry paste is not the same as curry powder. Curry paste is.. well.. a paste. Personally I think paste is ten times better than powder. I have used brown and yellow, but I think green would be just as good. Depending on the kind of paste you get, one tablet is good, or even one tablespoon. Depending on the brand of the paste, you may have some trouble mixing it into the sour cream. I heated up my paste a bit of oil with some garlic. Added a bit of cayenne for a good kick and topped off with some cilantro and steamed peas. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Kitahara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
This was very good! Salmon turned out moist. I did however only have curry powder so I used 1 tab curry, added some coriander,cumin,chili, onion and garlic powder. Topped this with scallions and cilantro. Also do not forget the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
Made Salmon edible for us... Definitely will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Awesome, my fiance and kids love this, and it's so fast and easy that it could easily become a busy night regular in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
very good and will make many times but better with curry paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by noahsmum
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Pretty good, however, curry was a staple in my house growing up, so I made a few changes; some chopped cilentro, a bay leaf in the sauce, salt to taste, cubed potatoes, minced habenaro, and garlic. I served it over rice with stuffed mushrooms, and it was gone in no time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by noahsmum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Kind of bland. Made this recipe as directed. Needs additional spices to give it a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cryingwolf110583
Home Town: Vassar, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Baked Salmon II

See a straightforward, 5-star recipe for making baked salmon.

How to Make Salmon in Parchment

See how to make a moist salmon fillet baked in parchment paper.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States