Curried Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
We made this for dinner last night and my son went back for thirds! Added extra onion [because we like onion], a can of chickpeas and some frozen spinach for veggies & ½ tsp of Garam Masala for a bit of extra spice to the pot. This turned out fantastic and we will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KytchenWytch

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Oh my goodness, does this taste wonderful! I turned it into a main course, adding grilled chicken, zucchini, yellow squash and fresh peppers. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I've made about 10 times and it is AMAZING! I use our rice cooker (using the White Rice setting) and just throw everything in the pot - but left out the added salt since the chicken broth has plenty already. Thanks AF!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
This is a very interesting quinoa recipe. We added lemon juice and it really made it pop! Next time I will reduce the chile powder because it was just a little bit too strong. All in all very enjoyable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kofa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
This was my first experience with quinoa and I'm very excited about how it turned out! Such a simple and yummy recipe that we really enjoyed! I followed the directions exactly except for using two tsp of regular chili powder since I didn't have ancho. I will definitely be making this recipe again and again, Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I used this recipe for my first attempt to cook quinoa, after hearing about how good it is for you. I liked it very much. I made the following changes though, based on others' reviews. Sub. chili powder for the ancho chili, add 1T. lemon juice, add 1 t. garam masala, and 1-2 cans drained chickpeas and/or cooked chicken breast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This was my first attempt with cooking quinoa and it was surprisingly easy! This recipe was absolutely delicious and both myself and my dinner guests raved about it. A few modifcations I made were to add alot of veggies: asparagus, broccoli, bell peppers, zucchini and bok choy which I sauteed in chicken broth, added a few dashes of soy sauce and sriracha (hot sauce) and some chicken breast. I threw in prawns at the end as well. I cooked the quinoa and sauteed onion with curry and chile powder in my rice cooker and added to the veggie mix at the end. This dish was so flavorful, very easy and quick to prepare. It is a new household favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
This is so good! I did change it up a bit by adding 1/4 tsp of cinnamon and a can of chickpeas. I also threw in some craisins. Loved it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nurse Ellen so not a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Hubby said it was a 5. Since we've been exposed to several Quinoa recipes, we really like it. I will reduce the ancho chile powder to 2 tsp next time because I felt it overpowered the curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
even better with a chicken breast in the mix! mmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Quinoa with Garbanzos and Peppers

This curried quinoa uses ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States