Curried Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
This recipe makes at least 6 servings, not 2. The chile powder overwhelmed this dish. I hesitated to use it, but went against my better judgement and halved it......it was still too much. I doubled the curry because I love it, but the chile masked the flavor of the curry entirely. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sequim, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sespehr
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
I love making this! I also turned it into a main course and made a few modifications: didn't have ancho chile powder so just used regular chili powder. I did 4 teaspoons instead of 2 tablespoons. I added a can of drained chickpeas, 1/2 of a red pepper (diced), 1/2 cup of chopped spinach, 1/2 tsp of garam masala, and added about a half pound of sauteed chicken. When I sauteed the chicken I seasoned it with salt, pepper, turmeric, and paprika and just cooked it in olive oil with garlic. Turned out great! Had to add a little salt to off-set the spice, but overall great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Very good - I added a left over chicken breast (diced) and a 1/2 bag of frozen california blend which I warmed up in the microwave first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
This recipe is great and so versatile. I added raisins (soaked a bit to plump them) and sliced almonds at the end of the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Great recipe! I had cooked quinoa with peas left over from the night before..simply prepared rest of recipe as written and then added cooked quinoa at the end. Also used regular chili powder, and bumped up with more Indian spices at the beginning coz I LOVE good spicy Indian food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DONNANDREW

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
This dish was delicious. My whole family loved it. I added red, green, and yellow peppers and a touch of honey. Next time I'm cooking this along side salmon. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
We liked it a lot but my 3 year old did not, but that's ok. I only ask that he at least tries everything on his plate. I used the full amount of curry powder, only added half the amount of chili powder, but I added a bit of garam marsala too. I also added a bit of frozen corn at the end and the juice from a lime. I would eat this again, and play around the spices to make it a bit milder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOUDLESS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Made as written - just a little spicier than I liked but my husband loved it. I'll cut the spices next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NancyJak

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Wallingford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
This was insanely good. My 'weird' grain cautious husband loved it. I made 2 changes (I try not to do that but I didn't have ancho chile anything in the house). I left out the ancho and I was running low on curry powder so I used about 2 tsp of curry (all I had left) and I added about 2 tsp of garam masala. We ate more of this quinoa than we did the entree or veggies. I am sure it is really good with the just the curry but adding the garam masala added a depth and complexity that just tasted amazing. We are looking forward to adding this to our dinner rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyBeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
used organic red quinoa. Also added the chicken. I used 2 teaspoons of my homemade chili powder Would give 10 stars if I could
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tenino, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Curried Quinoa with Garbanzos and Peppers

This curried quinoa uses ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States