Curried Quinoa Salad with Mango Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Well, not every recipe can be a homerun.. I gave this one 3 stars because it does have the potential to be great. 1st and foremost if you make it as written, you better like salty foods. Next time I'll add the salt after the quinoa is done cooking before it cools. Black pepper could be switched for white pepper, or eliminated all together. Instead of garlic powder and salt try a good solid 1/4 tsp garlic salt or what I'll be trying next time is Garlic gourmet Zesty Garlic. I added apricot because my mango was pretty small, next time though I think I'd like to add some color intstead, cranberries has been mentioned but I think strawberries or tart cherries would also freshen it up a bit. I also toasted some almonds and gave em a rough chop. I'll definately try it again, but absolutely not as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
I made this and added Cranberies, Basil and Celery and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
This was great, but I changed a lot! 1) I used 2 tsp curry powder, 2) I added a stalk of celery, 3) I added a few sliced almonds, 4) I didn't have quite enough mango so I added a few dried blueberries, 5) I used red onion instead of green onion, and 6) I omitted the salt. I thought the flavor was great except it was too much black pepper for my liking. It just didn't seem to flow with the fruit. So I think next time I will just put a dash in or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
Made it for a potluck at work and got rave reviews. I added 20 whole almonds to the recipe. The almonds provided a great crunch to the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
This was my first foray into quinoa and it won’t be my last as I enjoyed it very much. I didn’t find this recipe too salty, but that is very dependent on the broth that you use (so taste test before adding the salt and add a little at a time). I made the recipe as is and taste tested each step of the way (just to see what adding each thing did for the flavor). I used an African curry that I brought back from Morocco which really complimented the sweet mango flavor well. For texture I added pine nuts right at the end. I also confess, I didn’t wait for this to cool down…I ate it hot and loved it. I’ll experiment a little with the leftovers (trying it cold for one). I think adding a squeeze of lime and a little cayenne could step this up a notch, but this was delicious as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMF443

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
This had nice flavor. Everyone seemed to like it. I liked that it didn't make 12 gallons of salad. My mango was pretty ripe, so it added a nice juicy flavor, but didn't do much for the texture in my opinion. Was really easy to make in stages -- cooked the quinoa, then fed a baby, chopped a mango, fed a baby, chopped an onion, fed a baby, mixed and served. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUSYBEE25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
This is a delicious basic recipe. I love that the flavor is boiled right into the quinoa. The first time I made this, it was precisely to recipe, with rave reviews. Since then, I have made different variations, with bell peppers, red onion, tofu, or even served hot stuffed in acorn squash. Perhaps my only complaint is that unless your fruit/veggies are nice and juicy, it can taste a little dry. I add a bit of oil and balsamic vinegar or lime juice to make it more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by I ♥ allrecipes
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I'm hoping that a better mango will make this dish taste better. I liked it...it was just lacking something. Wish I could figure it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I ♥ allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
Very good! I love savory recipes that include fruit. I used Inca Red Quinoa and that added a very nice burgundy color to the yellow mango and green onion. I would also cut back a bit on the green onion. Delicious, protein-rich side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janjelly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
This was absolutely delicious! I added the cranberries and almonds as other reviewers mentioned and it provided for a wonderful blend of flavors. I liked it better cold and it held up in the fridge for 3 days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Curried Quinoa with Garbanzos and Peppers

This curried quinoa uses ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Zesty Quinoa Salad

See how to make an out-of-this-world quinoa salad with a tangy kick!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States