Curried Quinoa Salad with Mango Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
delicious flavor! i loved this dish even though i don't ordinarily like green onions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
Fantastic. Everyone in the family loved, even though they are not big on curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
I made this and added Cranberies, Basil and Celery and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by echosunshine
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
I made this following the recipe exactly and it was a big hit! The mango I used was not too soft, so the pieces held their shape in the salad. Next time I'd reduce the chicken stock a little, as it was a little salty. I made it again one night when I didn't have any mango, so I used some mandarin orange sections and added a few sauteed mushrooms too - a nice variation. A great way to add quinoa to your repertoire!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
This had nice flavor. Everyone seemed to like it. I liked that it didn't make 12 gallons of salad. My mango was pretty ripe, so it added a nice juicy flavor, but didn't do much for the texture in my opinion. Was really easy to make in stages -- cooked the quinoa, then fed a baby, chopped a mango, fed a baby, chopped an onion, fed a baby, mixed and served. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUSYBEE25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
I used spelt instead of Quinoa (My origonal plan was to use quinoa but when i opened my pantry I saw I did not have enough for this recipe, but had alread set my mind o making it....) I added mango, dried cranberries, scallions, diced celery, dried coconut and 3 tbsp. olive oil, 3 tbsp. of lime juice, salt & pepper and curry powder - WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
I recently read about the amazing nutritional value of quinoa (it's a complete protein by itself and has iron too - essential for vegetarians!) in a local paper. I've been a vegetarian for almost 25 years and couldn't beleive I'd never heard of this incredible grain. This was the first recipe I tried and it was a hit! I was a little nervous because I couldn't remember if my husband liked curry (you'd think I'd know after nearly 18 years!) and I know he's not crazy about mangos. He loved it! He says it's a great way for me to get him to eat mangos! I love that you can eat it cold so it's a great make ahead dish The only change I made the first time was to use vegetable broth instead of chicken. The second time I only used 1 tsp. curry because it was a little strong for me (though my husband liked it fine with 1 1/2). My 3 and 5 year-olds did not like it, which isn't surprising. They're in a "don't want to eat new things stage" right now. If you're wanting to try Quinoa and like curry you should defnitely make this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
VERY salty. Next time I would add more mango and cut the salt and I think it would come out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
Very good! I love savory recipes that include fruit. I used Inca Red Quinoa and that added a very nice burgundy color to the yellow mango and green onion. I would also cut back a bit on the green onion. Delicious, protein-rich side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janjelly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
Super! I used vegetable stock to make it vegetarian. The mango makes it delicious. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Zesty Quinoa Salad

See how to make an out-of-this-world quinoa salad with a tangy kick!

Curried Quinoa with Garbanzos and Peppers

This curried quinoa uses ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States