Curried Quinoa Salad with Mango Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Well, not every recipe can be a homerun.. I gave this one 3 stars because it does have the potential to be great. 1st and foremost if you make it as written, you better like salty foods. Next time I'll add the salt after the quinoa is done cooking before it cools. Black pepper could be switched for white pepper, or eliminated all together. Instead of garlic powder and salt try a good solid 1/4 tsp garlic salt or what I'll be trying next time is Garlic gourmet Zesty Garlic. I added apricot because my mango was pretty small, next time though I think I'd like to add some color intstead, cranberries has been mentioned but I think strawberries or tart cherries would also freshen it up a bit. I also toasted some almonds and gave em a rough chop. I'll definately try it again, but absolutely not as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
This was absolutely delicious! I added the cranberries and almonds as other reviewers mentioned and it provided for a wonderful blend of flavors. I liked it better cold and it held up in the fridge for 3 days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
This is a delicious basic recipe. I love that the flavor is boiled right into the quinoa. The first time I made this, it was precisely to recipe, with rave reviews. Since then, I have made different variations, with bell peppers, red onion, tofu, or even served hot stuffed in acorn squash. Perhaps my only complaint is that unless your fruit/veggies are nice and juicy, it can taste a little dry. I add a bit of oil and balsamic vinegar or lime juice to make it more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
I really wanted to like this recipe - it had everything in it that I like. Unfortunately, the flavour combinations just didn't work for me. The dish overall was very, very sweet, too much so for my taste. I even tried adding red onion and celery as other suggested, but that didn't help. I still have half the recipe remaining and will try a couple things to cut the sweetness, but as is, this is not the recipe for me. Thanks anyway for sharing, Cinderella - I look forward to trying some of your other submissions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Plain and boring. Will try to spice up the leftovers to salvage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
I made the dish according to the recipe and found it a little boring. I had to add some chopped almonds and cranberries to make it a little more interesting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
This was great, but I changed a lot! 1) I used 2 tsp curry powder, 2) I added a stalk of celery, 3) I added a few sliced almonds, 4) I didn't have quite enough mango so I added a few dried blueberries, 5) I used red onion instead of green onion, and 6) I omitted the salt. I thought the flavor was great except it was too much black pepper for my liking. It just didn't seem to flow with the fruit. So I think next time I will just put a dash in or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
This recipe is EASY and wonderful! My friend and I absolutely loved it. When I make it again, I will add less salt or use a low sodium chicken broth though because I made it with regular chicken broth and it was a touch too salty. I also added too many green onions (they were too large) and that was a bit overpowering. However, it was still delicious! And I will definitely be making this many times more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
This was quite good but a bit salty. Would be a good side dish with grilled chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
This was good. I used vegetable stock but would reduce the stock next time - as I did think it was too salty. Next time I would also add more veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChristinaW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chehalis, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Zesty Quinoa Salad

See how to make an out-of-this-world quinoa salad with a tangy kick!

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Curried Quinoa with Garbanzos and Peppers

This curried quinoa uses ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States