Curried Quinoa Salad with Mango Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
This was absolutely delicious! I added the cranberries and almonds as other reviewers mentioned and it provided for a wonderful blend of flavors. I liked it better cold and it held up in the fridge for 3 days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
This is a delicious basic recipe. I love that the flavor is boiled right into the quinoa. The first time I made this, it was precisely to recipe, with rave reviews. Since then, I have made different variations, with bell peppers, red onion, tofu, or even served hot stuffed in acorn squash. Perhaps my only complaint is that unless your fruit/veggies are nice and juicy, it can taste a little dry. I add a bit of oil and balsamic vinegar or lime juice to make it more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
I really wanted to like this recipe - it had everything in it that I like. Unfortunately, the flavour combinations just didn't work for me. The dish overall was very, very sweet, too much so for my taste. I even tried adding red onion and celery as other suggested, but that didn't help. I still have half the recipe remaining and will try a couple things to cut the sweetness, but as is, this is not the recipe for me. Thanks anyway for sharing, Cinderella - I look forward to trying some of your other submissions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Plain and boring. Will try to spice up the leftovers to salvage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
I made the dish according to the recipe and found it a little boring. I had to add some chopped almonds and cranberries to make it a little more interesting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
This was great, but I changed a lot! 1) I used 2 tsp curry powder, 2) I added a stalk of celery, 3) I added a few sliced almonds, 4) I didn't have quite enough mango so I added a few dried blueberries, 5) I used red onion instead of green onion, and 6) I omitted the salt. I thought the flavor was great except it was too much black pepper for my liking. It just didn't seem to flow with the fruit. So I think next time I will just put a dash in or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
This recipe is EASY and wonderful! My friend and I absolutely loved it. When I make it again, I will add less salt or use a low sodium chicken broth though because I made it with regular chicken broth and it was a touch too salty. I also added too many green onions (they were too large) and that was a bit overpowering. However, it was still delicious! And I will definitely be making this many times more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
This was quite good but a bit salty. Would be a good side dish with grilled chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
This was good. I used vegetable stock but would reduce the stock next time - as I did think it was too salty. Next time I would also add more veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChristinaW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chehalis, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by Kendra
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Pretty good. I used vegetable stock to make it vegetarian. It could have used a little more curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendra

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lynnwood, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Zesty Quinoa Salad

See how to make an out-of-this-world quinoa salad with a tangy kick!

Curried Quinoa with Garbanzos and Peppers

This curried quinoa uses ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Cranberry and Cilantro Quinoa Salad

See how to make a quinoa salad with dried cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States