Curried Quinoa Salad with Mango Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
This was my first foray into quinoa and it won’t be my last as I enjoyed it very much. I didn’t find this recipe too salty, but that is very dependent on the broth that you use (so taste test before adding the salt and add a little at a time). I made the recipe as is and taste tested each step of the way (just to see what adding each thing did for the flavor). I used an African curry that I brought back from Morocco which really complimented the sweet mango flavor well. For texture I added pine nuts right at the end. I also confess, I didn’t wait for this to cool down…I ate it hot and loved it. I’ll experiment a little with the leftovers (trying it cold for one). I think adding a squeeze of lime and a little cayenne could step this up a notch, but this was delicious as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMF443

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
Very good. It could be a little moister.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Wow! I've never had quinoa before, but have just started the Elimination Diet and was looking for recipes using it as a base. This was delicious and will make my diet easy to get through! I would agree with other people's comments that there was too much salt (and I like salt). I would cut the salt in half. I also doubled the pepper (but I like food with a kick). I only used 2 green onions instead of 3. Lastly, I didn't have cranberries (per other people's suggestions) and almonds are not allowed in my diet, so I used sunflower seeds. It was delicious! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Deeeeelish!!!! I used veggie broth instead of chicken broth to keep it totally vegetarian and I used fresh garlic instead of powder (didn't have any powder). The flavor is amazing, the quinoa is sufficiently chewy, but not too much. I will definitely make this again and again while mangoes are fresh in stock! I can also see how this recipe can be switched up to make a variety of sides and main courses. Well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Wow! Loved the base flavors of this recipe, but I've made additions to accommodate my taste buds--cumin, cayenne, chipotle, parlsey, mint, lime&lemon juice. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Definately use low sodium chicken broth--way too salty. Next time I will add more crunchy things, almonds or some other kind of nuts. And BTW, do NOT use canned mango--way too soft and, um, I think DH said slimey. Interesting basic recipe, needs some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanover, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Very good. Used chicken brother and added about 1/2 tsp of ground ginger to water with other spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by I ♥ allrecipes
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I'm hoping that a better mango will make this dish taste better. I liked it...it was just lacking something. Wish I could figure it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I ♥ allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Hey folks, try this recipe with Dried Cranberries (in lieu of the raisins) too, it is YUMMMY! I am so thankful to find this recipe. It is pretty much exactly the same as one at Marlenes Health food Deli that I LOVE LOVE LOVE. THey do not share the recipes, but will tell you the ingredients. I made it and it was the same wonderful, delicious, refreshing salad I enjoy without the premium price. THank you! *only reason I didnt give 5 stars is I reserve that for recipes that I coud eat until I explode. I love this, but c'mon, its not chocolate. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Well, not every recipe can be a homerun.. I gave this one 3 stars because it does have the potential to be great. 1st and foremost if you make it as written, you better like salty foods. Next time I'll add the salt after the quinoa is done cooking before it cools. Black pepper could be switched for white pepper, or eliminated all together. Instead of garlic powder and salt try a good solid 1/4 tsp garlic salt or what I'll be trying next time is Garlic gourmet Zesty Garlic. I added apricot because my mango was pretty small, next time though I think I'd like to add some color intstead, cranberries has been mentioned but I think strawberries or tart cherries would also freshen it up a bit. I also toasted some almonds and gave em a rough chop. I'll definately try it again, but absolutely not as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Zesty Quinoa Salad

See how to make an out-of-this-world quinoa salad with a tangy kick!

Curried Quinoa with Garbanzos and Peppers

This curried quinoa uses ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Cranberry and Cilantro Quinoa Salad

See how to make a quinoa salad with dried cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States