Curried Quinoa Salad with Mango Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
I seem to be inexplicably unable to cook whole grains. I even checked my Betty Crocker whole grain cookbook (which said to cook the quinoa 10-to 12 miniutes). I checked it after 12 miniutes and it was no where close to done. Then I checked it after 20 miniutes and it was still hard. It ended up taking 30 miniutes and had the consistancy of cream of wheat. I would never downgrade a recipe due to my whole grain impairment though. We loved the flavors, the mango was excellent (I found a really good one). We did end up eating it hot instead of cold due to the consistancy and it went well with the pork roast I made from another recipe on this site. Thanks so much for the recipe, Cinderella. I'll just keep slogging on with my feeble attempts to cook whole grains.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
This was my first foray into quinoa and it won’t be my last as I enjoyed it very much. I didn’t find this recipe too salty, but that is very dependent on the broth that you use (so taste test before adding the salt and add a little at a time). I made the recipe as is and taste tested each step of the way (just to see what adding each thing did for the flavor). I used an African curry that I brought back from Morocco which really complimented the sweet mango flavor well. For texture I added pine nuts right at the end. I also confess, I didn’t wait for this to cool down…I ate it hot and loved it. I’ll experiment a little with the leftovers (trying it cold for one). I think adding a squeeze of lime and a little cayenne could step this up a notch, but this was delicious as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMF443

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
Very good. It could be a little moister.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Wow! I've never had quinoa before, but have just started the Elimination Diet and was looking for recipes using it as a base. This was delicious and will make my diet easy to get through! I would agree with other people's comments that there was too much salt (and I like salt). I would cut the salt in half. I also doubled the pepper (but I like food with a kick). I only used 2 green onions instead of 3. Lastly, I didn't have cranberries (per other people's suggestions) and almonds are not allowed in my diet, so I used sunflower seeds. It was delicious! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Deeeeelish!!!! I used veggie broth instead of chicken broth to keep it totally vegetarian and I used fresh garlic instead of powder (didn't have any powder). The flavor is amazing, the quinoa is sufficiently chewy, but not too much. I will definitely make this again and again while mangoes are fresh in stock! I can also see how this recipe can be switched up to make a variety of sides and main courses. Well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Wow! Loved the base flavors of this recipe, but I've made additions to accommodate my taste buds--cumin, cayenne, chipotle, parlsey, mint, lime&lemon juice. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Definately use low sodium chicken broth--way too salty. Next time I will add more crunchy things, almonds or some other kind of nuts. And BTW, do NOT use canned mango--way too soft and, um, I think DH said slimey. Interesting basic recipe, needs some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanover, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Very good. Used chicken brother and added about 1/2 tsp of ground ginger to water with other spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by I ♥ allrecipes
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I'm hoping that a better mango will make this dish taste better. I liked it...it was just lacking something. Wish I could figure it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I ♥ allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Hey folks, try this recipe with Dried Cranberries (in lieu of the raisins) too, it is YUMMMY! I am so thankful to find this recipe. It is pretty much exactly the same as one at Marlenes Health food Deli that I LOVE LOVE LOVE. THey do not share the recipes, but will tell you the ingredients. I made it and it was the same wonderful, delicious, refreshing salad I enjoy without the premium price. THank you! *only reason I didnt give 5 stars is I reserve that for recipes that I coud eat until I explode. I love this, but c'mon, its not chocolate. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Curried Quinoa with Garbanzos and Peppers

This curried quinoa uses ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Zesty Quinoa Salad

See how to make an out-of-this-world quinoa salad with a tangy kick!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States