Curried Popcorn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by belle
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
This was delicious. I would recommend it if you like trying new popcorn toppings. I can't believe someone would use peanut oil instead of coconut and then give this a bad review. They are to totally different oils with very different flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by belle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
First, I have to admit, I didn't have any coconut oil, so I don't know if that makes a huge difference. I used peanut oil instead, it tasted okay...but I really want Fred's recipe...a friend of a friend who won't share his popcorn seasoning secrets...dang it. I'd give his popcorn 5 stars and him a -4 for being selfish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Weber Iwertz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
I am usually the first to substitute ingredients that I don't have, but for this recipe if you don't use coconut oil then you are really missing out. The coconut oil is part of what makes this recipe great. The only thing that makes this a little better are raisins and salt.... peanuts are good too. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Very tasty! I actually heated the coconut oil, added the spices and unpopped kernels and popped it on the stove. Delicious! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
I ate this every day for a week. Soo good. A must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Fantastic! I used 1/4tsp chili powder instead of hot sauce. Everyone gobbled it up. I will make this on a regular basis. We call it Masala Popcorn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
A delightful twist for a change. Not 'better' than another recipe I have (onion soup mix) but a nice change and worthy of making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by incurable

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Great taste. The only thing I wasn't pleased with was that so much of the flavor sank to the bottom of the bowl! The flavor mixed into the popped corn before sinking, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
Great popcorn! I get the same finished product in a slightly different way. I cook my popcorn (1/2 cup) in 2 tblsp of coconut oil. I then melt an additional two tblsp of coconut oil, pour half over half of the cooked popcorn, then mix in half of combined spices, and repeat. Seems to more evenly distribute. Also, everyone has a different taste preference so at first, I was a little light-handed on the spices. Like anything, you can always add more later. I used garlic powder in place of fresh and chile powder in place of hot sauce. Also added a few pinches of paprika, chipotle seasoning and sea salt. Nice change from regular popcorn, and healthy with coconut oil as well as the spices. Thanks Spiderwoman77!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
This was great! The only thing I'd change in the recipe is the part where it says "serve immediately". I made this popcorn (along with Pad Thai popcorn and truffle popcorn and some other appetizers) for an Oscars party and it would have been nice to know that this recipe is just as delicious made a day in advance as it is made minutes before serving it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtnee Crystal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Funky Popcorn

Light, airy buttered popcorn starring the aromatic flavors of the Middle East.

Ashley & Whitney's Popcorn & Pretzel Snack Mix

Toss your favorite snack foods with melted chocolate and bake.

Best Ever Popcorn Balls

This snack is sweet, savory, and crunchy--and even low in fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States