Curried Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
Love this recipe. Peas are a big favorite, as are Indian dishes. I used frozen peas and was very careful not to overcook. I like things spicy, so I did add a little more heat, but not so much that I covered the sweetness of the peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
Great simple dish, and a nice way to use the abundant harvest of fresh peas. I'm sure frozen would work as well. I used double the coconut milk, and still thought I needed a bit more liquid, so added a splash of vegetable broth. Served it over coconut rice (basmati rice cooked in coconut milk and turmeric) and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
Easy to fix and good taste. I used frozen peas and ended up adding about twice the quantity of coconut milk than suggested in order to get some flavor. Perhaps I should try another brand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2001
Great recipe. I love curries, but was never able to get this "Indian Restaurant Food Flavor" into my veggie curries. Well, this one did it... I think it was the cinnamon. I replace the chili powder with mild curry, though, cause I have a little boy who can't eat too spicy. Still, super recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2002
I made double the recipe and used frozen peas and served it over basmati rice, it was delicious! even my 2 picky eater sisters loved it! NOTE: If you are using fresh peas they might take very long to cook because of the acidity of the tomatoes so you could either boil them first abit then add them in or use frozen peas that have been soaked in hot water for abit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMATULLAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
Really lovely! I had to use vegetable oil because I didn't have ginger oil, and frozen peas. I also reduced the chili to 1/8 teaspoon (after scaling down to 1 serving). This was fantastic with chappatis!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2003
Delicious and Easy! Everyone enjoyed it. Wouldn't change a thing. I had to use canned diced tomoatoes since the tomatoes at the vegetable store weren't good - but now I know that the recipe can accommodate either fresh or canned. Another thing I found - we had some left over today - I tasted it cold and the and the flavors had blended in even more. This is a recipe I know I can do a day ahead now and serve cold during the summer. Thanks Gayathri!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2005
Lots of heat in this very easy to prepare recipe. Excellent Indian side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMASUISSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
I doubled or tripled the spices (didn't really measure). I also added about 1/2 tsp of dried dill. I used a 540ml canned tomatoes and a 398ml can of peas. Once it had simmered for a bit, i thickened it with about a 1/4cup of cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2000
We had to use frozen peas instead of fresh, but this still turned out well. Fresh, authentic flavor; delicious over jasmine or basmati rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Quinoa with Garbanzos and Peppers

This curried quinoa uses ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Quick Creamed Curried Corn

This rich, creamy corn side dish has no cream or butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States