Curried Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2002
I made double the recipe and used frozen peas and served it over basmati rice, it was delicious! even my 2 picky eater sisters loved it! NOTE: If you are using fresh peas they might take very long to cook because of the acidity of the tomatoes so you could either boil them first abit then add them in or use frozen peas that have been soaked in hot water for abit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMATULLAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
Love this recipe. Peas are a big favorite, as are Indian dishes. I used frozen peas and was very careful not to overcook. I like things spicy, so I did add a little more heat, but not so much that I covered the sweetness of the peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2003
Delicious and Easy! Everyone enjoyed it. Wouldn't change a thing. I had to use canned diced tomoatoes since the tomatoes at the vegetable store weren't good - but now I know that the recipe can accommodate either fresh or canned. Another thing I found - we had some left over today - I tasted it cold and the and the flavors had blended in even more. This is a recipe I know I can do a day ahead now and serve cold during the summer. Thanks Gayathri!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
Great simple dish, and a nice way to use the abundant harvest of fresh peas. I'm sure frozen would work as well. I used double the coconut milk, and still thought I needed a bit more liquid, so added a splash of vegetable broth. Served it over coconut rice (basmati rice cooked in coconut milk and turmeric) and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
I really enjoyed this dish, but I took others' advice and added more coconut milk and I also used pure chile pepper powder and added more. I, too, used frozen peas, and it worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2001
Great recipe. I love curries, but was never able to get this "Indian Restaurant Food Flavor" into my veggie curries. Well, this one did it... I think it was the cinnamon. I replace the chili powder with mild curry, though, cause I have a little boy who can't eat too spicy. Still, super recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
For a pound of peas, I would have preferred about double the amount of sauce that these measurements yielded. Though the recipe calls for a pound of pea PODS, which might have yielded a half pound of actual peas... sadly I didn't note that before pouring an entire pound bag of peas in. (yes, I used frozen.) The spice mix smelled fantastic when I started cooking, but it really didn't translate into a good flavor, or at least not as good as it smelled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
I made this with frozen peas and it turned out lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
This was good. I needed to add more coconut milk. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2005
Lots of heat in this very easy to prepare recipe. Excellent Indian side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMASUISSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Quinoa with Garbanzos and Peppers

This curried quinoa uses ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Quick Creamed Curried Corn

This rich, creamy corn side dish has no cream or butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States