Curried Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2000
We had to use frozen peas instead of fresh, but this still turned out well. Fresh, authentic flavor; delicious over jasmine or basmati rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2001
Great recipe. I love curries, but was never able to get this "Indian Restaurant Food Flavor" into my veggie curries. Well, this one did it... I think it was the cinnamon. I replace the chili powder with mild curry, though, cause I have a little boy who can't eat too spicy. Still, super recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2002
I made double the recipe and used frozen peas and served it over basmati rice, it was delicious! even my 2 picky eater sisters loved it! NOTE: If you are using fresh peas they might take very long to cook because of the acidity of the tomatoes so you could either boil them first abit then add them in or use frozen peas that have been soaked in hot water for abit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMATULLAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
Really lovely! I had to use vegetable oil because I didn't have ginger oil, and frozen peas. I also reduced the chili to 1/8 teaspoon (after scaling down to 1 serving). This was fantastic with chappatis!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
Turned out great. Very easy and makes for an unusual side dish. I made it for a turkey dinner and it was a big hit, so much nicer than just some boiled carrots!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2003
Delicious and Easy! Everyone enjoyed it. Wouldn't change a thing. I had to use canned diced tomoatoes since the tomatoes at the vegetable store weren't good - but now I know that the recipe can accommodate either fresh or canned. Another thing I found - we had some left over today - I tasted it cold and the and the flavors had blended in even more. This is a recipe I know I can do a day ahead now and serve cold during the summer. Thanks Gayathri!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
Great flavor, but be careful of overcooking the peas. Mine came out a little mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2005
Lots of heat in this very easy to prepare recipe. Excellent Indian side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMASUISSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
Easy to fix and good taste. I used frozen peas and ended up adding about twice the quantity of coconut milk than suggested in order to get some flavor. Perhaps I should try another brand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
This was good. I needed to add more coconut milk. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Curried Quinoa with Garbanzos and Peppers

This curried quinoa uses ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Quick Creamed Curried Corn

This rich, creamy corn side dish has no cream or butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States