Curried Mustard Greens with Kidney Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 22, 2009
I actually think this dish looks delicious with it's greens, reds and oranges:) I increased the spice in this because I like it that way and made with evaporated goats milk. Next time I may try coconut milk instead. I wouldn't skip on the ghee if I were you because it really does give it a rich flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Versatile--I, too, substituted plain nonfat yogurt, onion, and olive oil in the recipe. Very flavorful and filling! A great way to eat greens, with no bitterness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
I did not like this recipe but I think it was a matter of taste, rather then the recipe itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Calico Rock, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
Just made this tonight and it was wonderful. The recipe said "one bunch of mustard greens". But I bought a bag of mustard greens and I just put in a lot of mustard greens and it didn't matter. I am Indian and totally relate to the recipe. It was flavorful and on top of rice it was delicious. Very flavorful and super healthy. Instead of "ghee", I used Olive oil. I also used non-fat half and half. I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
Very tasty! I added about 1/2 tsp garam masala, and used unclarified butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vw

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmington, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
This was absolutely delicious made with fresh mustard (and some kale) greens from the garden. I used coconut milk (low-fat) instead of the cream, onions and garlic instead of the shallots, home canned tomatoes, extra ginger and a lil bit of garam masala. Yummy and a great way to eat some nutritious greens and beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvia B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Creek, New York, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Excellent. I added 2 cloves of garlic, minced. I had no half/half so I used plain yogurt. I served it over basmati rice. It was delicious and very nutritious. I will definitely be making this again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
I found this recipe while searching for a good way to enjoy mustard greens without all the bacon drippings (I'm a vegetarian). Let me tell you - this recipe is a huge favorite with both myself and my husband (who is an omnivore). Keep all the ingredients the same, BUT there is no need to blanch the greens. Simply add a bit of water or broth to your cooking pot after sauteing, throw in the greens, bring the heat down to low, cover and steam for a few minutes before carrying on with the rest of the recipe. That keeps some nutrients in the pot - and also makes clean-up a little easier. I serve the curry over brown rice, and always serve a side of roasted sweet potatoes and onions that have been tossed in oil and cayenne. The flavor of the sweet potato mashed in with a big bite of curry is absolute heaven... And when I bring the leftovers to work for lunch, I get jealous comments every single time. I can't throw out enough superlatives about this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
This is one of my fav recipes from this website! I chose this for my first time making Mustard Greens. It was manageable and delicious. My tween daughter and I love it! I also used olive oil and soy yogurt which worked out wonderfully, and learned from my first attempt that it was better to chop the greens before boiling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amillie.bug

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
I loved loved loved this recipe~ I added more red pepper, used condensed fat free milk rather than half and half. I added half a ring of turkey smoked sausage~ Served over brown rice- Absolutely INCREDIBLE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Utica Greens and Beans

Tasty beans and greens with escarole, pancetta, and a bread crumb topping.

Potato and Mustard Greens Salad

See how to make an intensely flavorful potato salad with spicy mustard greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States