Curried Mustard Greens with Kidney Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
I found this recipe while searching for a good way to enjoy mustard greens without all the bacon drippings (I'm a vegetarian). Let me tell you - this recipe is a huge favorite with both myself and my husband (who is an omnivore). Keep all the ingredients the same, BUT there is no need to blanch the greens. Simply add a bit of water or broth to your cooking pot after sauteing, throw in the greens, bring the heat down to low, cover and steam for a few minutes before carrying on with the rest of the recipe. That keeps some nutrients in the pot - and also makes clean-up a little easier. I serve the curry over brown rice, and always serve a side of roasted sweet potatoes and onions that have been tossed in oil and cayenne. The flavor of the sweet potato mashed in with a big bite of curry is absolute heaven... And when I bring the leftovers to work for lunch, I get jealous comments every single time. I can't throw out enough superlatives about this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
This is one of my fav recipes from this website! I chose this for my first time making Mustard Greens. It was manageable and delicious. My tween daughter and I love it! I also used olive oil and soy yogurt which worked out wonderfully, and learned from my first attempt that it was better to chop the greens before boiling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amillie.bug

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
I loved loved loved this recipe~ I added more red pepper, used condensed fat free milk rather than half and half. I added half a ring of turkey smoked sausage~ Served over brown rice- Absolutely INCREDIBLE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
We added garlic cloves and used coconut milk instead of half & half. We also made couscous instead of rice. It was surprisingly good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
This was such an easy and delicious recipe! I didn't have any shallots or onions so I just added a couple of cloves of garlic. I also substituted olive oil for the ghee and pinto beans for the kidney beans. What a versatile recipe! It was wonderful and tasted as if I had slaved over the stove for an hour and a half when the whole thing took about 30minutes from start to finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
I used frozen mustard greens, onions instead of the shallots, and fat-free yogurt (per another reviewer's suggestion) instead of heavy cream. It was still a wonderful side dish...full of flavor. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MotherLodeViv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colts Neck, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
Picked free mustard greens which I've never before liked today. This recipe was wonderful with NO trace of bitterness from the greens. I'm going to make up a batch and try to freeze it for later. Super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Schwang! This dish was like 'ol South marries Indian. We liked it. Instead of half and half I used lite coconut milk and did take the advice from above and added some garlic. Also I used 1/2 tsp. of powdered ginger in place of fresh. Nearly made the error of using scallions instead of shallots - because here in the South we say green onion more often. This shows I'm still learning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mount Juliet, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
Halfway through making this I asked myself, "Self, why am I making this? It can't be good..." Well, I was wrong! This is a very authentic tasting Indian dish! I did substitute home-canned tomatoes for the tomato sauce, and discovered my half and half was out of date so used buttermilk. Absolutely incredible!!! Really hit the spot served along pork tenderloin and a roasted sweet potato!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
Very easy, pretty good. I didn't know whether or not to cut up the greens, so I chopped the bunch up in 3-4" lengths. I might go even a little smaller next time, especially since my toddler will also be eating this. I used olive oil instead of ghee (since I had it...), 1/2 a sweet onion (because I think shallots are expensive :-), and 1/2 cup sour cream instead of the 1/2 and 1/2. I also added salt & pepper. I think it was a little bland, so next time I'll increase the curry and the red pepper. And I'm thinking I'll add some raisins! P.S. Don't forget to make some rice to serve this dish over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Utica Greens and Beans

Tasty beans and greens with escarole, pancetta, and a bread crumb topping.

Potato and Mustard Greens Salad

See how to make an intensely flavorful potato salad with spicy mustard greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States