Curried Mustard Greens with Kidney Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
This was very good! I used collard greens because that was what I had.. Very yummy. I was afraid that it would taste a lot like Palak, but it really didn't. It has an Indian flavor, and you could defiantly add Garam Masala, etc, for a more 'authentic' taste, but it's just as good the way it is. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
This is very good, easy, and versatile. Like others, I subbed coconut milk and added more spice. Used diced tomatoes instead of sauce. Over rice, it is a such a great quick meal that doesn't taste like you rushed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
I have to agree with the other reviewers, this was very good! Of course, I changed it to what I had on hand. Browned 2 onions in ghee for about 15 mins before adding 4 cloves chopped garlic, 3 tsp curry powder, 1/2 tsp crushed red pepper, and 1/2 tsp ground ginger. cooked another 5 mins then added 15 oz crushed tomatoes, 1 can coconut milk, kidney bean, and one of those big bags of prewashed and cut kale greens. Added 2 tsp salt, stirred to combine and soften greens a bit then let simmer gently for 20-30 minutes. Stirred occasionally during cooking. This was such a great combination of flavors and had a nice, rich taste. Served over some brown rice. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Very yummy. Maybe could've used a tad more spice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Yummy! It sounds like such a strange combination of ingredients, but it is delicious. I upped the curry and red pepper flakes (3 tsp curry and a couple good shakes of red pepper), and that was just right for me and my spice-loving husband. We used heavy cream instead of half and half, but other than that followed the recipe as written. Next time I will use more mustard greens (1.5 or maybe even 2 bunches) and possibly sautee them in the curry so as not to lose the nutrients (which will mean adding more liquid to the curry).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
I had a can of mustard greens and was looking for a healthy and flavorful recipe--which is what I found in this recipe. Like another reviewer, I used plain yogurt instead of half and half, and the results were great. I warmed up some of the leftovers and had it over an omlet this morning--delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
This dish was amazing. I think they need to be cooked a little longer than stated in the recipe and I didn't chop them up well enough. Next time I will chop much finer but otherwise, followed the recipe exactly and it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Great recipe! I was clueless about what to do with the mustard greens in my CSA box. I subbed coconut milk for the half and half since that's what I had. This is a warm and flavorful curry dish that will get me to eat those good-for-you greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Used coconut milk- but I think that the recipe calls for too much tomato sauce for my taste. Served over rice and it made a TON. Pretty good overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COURTNEYGRIFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
I have made this 3 times in the last month and it has turned out great each time. The first time I used coconut milk. The second time I used fat free 1/2 and 1/2 to make it even more low fat. I serve it with brown rice as well. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Utica Greens and Beans

Tasty beans and greens with escarole, pancetta, and a bread crumb topping.

Potato and Mustard Greens Salad

See how to make an intensely flavorful potato salad with spicy mustard greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States