Curried Mustard Greens with Kidney Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
My family loved this dish (and we don"t normally care for greens)! I did modify it for waht I had on hand. I had greens given to me and I don't know what kinds they were. Also I substituted regular butter for ghee, onion for shallot, and ginger spice for grated fresh ginger. I'm sure it would have been even better if I had the correct ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
I had never eaten mustard greens before but bought some this weekend at the farmer's market. Found this recipe and it sounded so completely different that I had to try it! YUM!! I think I overdid the red pepper a bit, but that was my fault. Next time I will use coconut milk, cause that's the way I roll, I used olive oil instead of ghee just for ease factor, but as is is delish! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dede Fluette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Great recipe! Can't believe how delicious and easy this is. I also used olive oil and coconut milk as replacements to make it vegetarian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dakinegrindz
Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
I also substituted the cream for coconut milk. It was really outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bailarconmigo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lake Mary, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
I used coconut milk instead of half and half, and butter instead of ghee. I served it over quinoa and it is delicious. Next time I might try to add some shrimp and some chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
I made this recipe instead of curry i used sexy spices..it was amazing... this will definately be a favorite in our house..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I'm sure it was fine as is,,,but I soaked some adzuki beans, homemade yogurt for 1/2 & 1/2 and had no premade curry so threw in a mixture of cinnnamon, coriander, tumeric, asafoetida and cumin, and pureed diced tomatoes. Served with a chunk of naan and cauliflower kadhi,,,would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Sooo delicious! I read other reviews before cooking and combined some ideas. It turned out DELISH! I used fresh mustard greens from garden and prepared them as recipe stated. I then used just 1 t. of olive oil to sauteed 1/2 mild (maui) onion (no garlic as others suggested--too strong). Then I grated two inches of ginger root (prob. 1 T.). Then the pinch of flakes, the beans, the tomato sauce, FINALLY, I used 2 t. of RED CURRY POWDER and 1/2 c. of LITE COCONUT MILK. Yummy, healthy, and low-fat. Quick too. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorelli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fords, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
I wanted to love this. This was my first attempt with mustard greens. If you like mustard greens, you'll really like this...I'm just not feelin' them. Not the recipe's fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Bedford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
The only reason I didn't give it a 5 was that it was a great everyday dish, and not for a special occasion. I did make a few changes. I tore the greens up and rinsed them, and then steamed them in a covered microwave dish on high for 6 mintues. I used light olive oil (didn't have ghee). I used a 15 oz. can of diced fire-roasted tomatoes in place of the tomato sauce. As a couple of other reviewers suggested I added a shake of garam masala and tossed in a handful of raisins. This was fast, easy to make, and was yummy over basmati rice. I will make this again. Tip: Store your peeled ginger in the freezer: it grates easily and will last a long time. I prefer to grate my ginger so no one gets a big chunk of it. Remember that rice takes awhile to cook, and plan accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Utica Greens and Beans

Tasty beans and greens with escarole, pancetta, and a bread crumb topping.

Potato and Mustard Greens Salad

See how to make an intensely flavorful potato salad with spicy mustard greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States