Curried Microwaved Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2003
I made this recipe but decided to make it on the stove top and not in the microwave. I cooked the onion, curry, apple, paprika, butter and chicken all together and seasoned it with salt and pepper. Once the chicken was nearly done, i added some sweet green peas, the soup, milk (instead of thick cream) and a bit of water. I let this cook on medium for some time to reduce the liquid and let it thicken. It turned out absolutely delicious and i served it over penne. My husband and 4 year old thought it was great. Probably was alot more difficult than in the microwave....but i wanted the meat to be browned. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2004
This was great. My husband was skeptical about the apples but ended up liking it as well. I used boneless/skinless chicken breasts and milk instead of cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2004
I've tried quite a few curry recipes, most of them complicated. This one is easy and good. I, however, don't trust microwave ovens (old-fashioned, I guess), so I browned the chicken, partially cooked the sauce in the microwave, then baked in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
Wonderful tasting recipe. Kept the ingredients the same but cooked it stove top. First sauted the onions until almost clear, then cooked the chicken with the onions and mixed the spices, then once chicken was cooked added the apples and cream of mushroom soup and last the half & half. Cooked for another 15 minutes when it was thickened. Didn't need the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
I cooked this on the stove-top as did the others. My curry lover thought was delicious even without the mushrooms and onions. I added cooked egg-drop dumplings after it was baked (2 cups flour, 1 tsp. salt, 4 eggs and 1/2 cup cream. Blend, then drop dough by pieces into boiling water for 10 minutes). Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2005
So easy, so fast! I didn't have the mushrooms or heavy cream, so left out the mushrooms and used 1% milk. Of course it wasn't as rich tasting then, so I stirred in a couple of tablespoons of mango chutney which changed the flavor but I liked it as well. I think this might be one of those recipes that can be altered with what you have on hand and still be delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
Wonderful!!! I used milk instead of cream, used skinless whole chicken thighs (too much work to cut the meat off)and cooked in a skillet instead of microwaved. Everyone loved it. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
This was awesome! I too cooked it on the stovetop, substituted 2% evaporated milk for cream and threw in a handful of frozen sweet peas. Then I served it over couscous that I had mixed with raisins and almond slivers. It is was a big hit and will definitely become a regular. Next time I'm trying it with shrimp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guntersville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
Delicious and very easy to prepare. I made this in the stove top - sauteed the onion in butter, then mixed the chicken with the spices and added to the pan. I covered it, and when the chicken was almost done I added the apples,cream, soup and mushrooms. Will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
This is really good. I did as others suggested and did it on the stove top. I think I will try it in the microwave after browning the onion and chicken. I used evaporated milk and 1% milk as I didn't have any cream. Was still rich and yummy. I suggest rice as the gravy is great. I think next time I will put more chicken parts in it. Definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Curried Coconut Chicken

See how to make quick-and-easy curried chicken.

Fragrant Lemon Chicken

See how to make a tender, juicy whole chicken in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Butter Chicken

Chicken simmers with Indian spices in a creamy coconut milk and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States