Curried Microwaved Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2003
I made this recipe but decided to make it on the stove top and not in the microwave. I cooked the onion, curry, apple, paprika, butter and chicken all together and seasoned it with salt and pepper. Once the chicken was nearly done, i added some sweet green peas, the soup, milk (instead of thick cream) and a bit of water. I let this cook on medium for some time to reduce the liquid and let it thicken. It turned out absolutely delicious and i served it over penne. My husband and 4 year old thought it was great. Probably was alot more difficult than in the microwave....but i wanted the meat to be browned. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
Wonderful tasting recipe. Kept the ingredients the same but cooked it stove top. First sauted the onions until almost clear, then cooked the chicken with the onions and mixed the spices, then once chicken was cooked added the apples and cream of mushroom soup and last the half & half. Cooked for another 15 minutes when it was thickened. Didn't need the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
This was really, really good! I sauteed the onion & apple in the butter and then mixed it in with the soup & spices. Poured it over the chicken in a baking dish - cooked @ 350 for 1/2 hour covered and 15 minutes uncovered. I think the apple just brings out the flavor of everything. Will make again & again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2005
So easy, so fast! I didn't have the mushrooms or heavy cream, so left out the mushrooms and used 1% milk. Of course it wasn't as rich tasting then, so I stirred in a couple of tablespoons of mango chutney which changed the flavor but I liked it as well. I think this might be one of those recipes that can be altered with what you have on hand and still be delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I will never microwave chicken again....blah! Stove top was much better and the flavours were amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Wow! I made the stove-top method as described below. I used cut up frozen chicken tenders instead of chicken thighs, 1/2 cup sour cream, 1/2 cup milk instead of cream. My 3 children (8, 8, & 9) gobbled it up and wanted more. They liked curry - so I was pretty sure they would like this dish. It was a definite hit! The curry flavor isn't too strong like in some dishes and the mushroom and apples are a wonderful complement to it. Thanks Lucille!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
Delicious and very easy to prepare. I made this in the stove top - sauteed the onion in butter, then mixed the chicken with the spices and added to the pan. I covered it, and when the chicken was almost done I added the apples,cream, soup and mushrooms. Will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2006
This recipe would be great if you use the correct ingredients I am sure. When I made it, I used things around the house making the following changes: 1)Instead of heavy cream I used sour cream. 2)Used italien seasoning instead of curry -> thus lacking in flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Easy and tasty. Even my kids will eat this with basmati rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fairport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
ummmm...what do we do with the fresh cut mushrooms???? they are in the ingredients but not directions. Oh well Im going stove top anyway, will saute them with the onions....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Coconut Chicken

See how to make quick-and-easy curried chicken.

Fragrant Lemon Chicken

See how to make a tender, juicy whole chicken in the slow cooker.

Grilled Tandoori Chicken

Watch Chef John make easy tandoori-style chicken on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States