Curried Microwaved Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
This was a tasty weeknight dish. I made it with bone in thighs on the stove top. I sauted the onions and the apple in butter, then added the chicken. I followed another poster's advice and waited until the chicken had about 15 minutes left and added the soup, half and half, and curry. I really like the taste of curry, so next time I will use more. I used healthy request cream of mushroom soup, half and half and canned mushrooms. It thickened up nicely. I think it would be a really fast easy recipe with boneless thighs or breast, if you just reduce the cooking time. I made minute rice and put the curry sauce on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
Love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBINBRADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Meridian, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
To make this recipe more heart healthy I used reduced fat cream soup, 2% evaporated milk and left the peel on a granny smith apple. I microwaved whole, skinned chicked thighs, covered with wax paper, for 10 minutes. Then transferred them to the sauce cooking on the stovetop to finish cooking. The recipe had good flavor. Cooking the thighs in the sauce from start to finish would have made the sauce too runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
Needs more kick. Cooking time way, way too long. Only needs about 20 minutes tops, stirring every 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
Wonderful!!! I used milk instead of cream, used skinless whole chicken thighs (too much work to cut the meat off)and cooked in a skillet instead of microwaved. Everyone loved it. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2005
So easy, so fast! I didn't have the mushrooms or heavy cream, so left out the mushrooms and used 1% milk. Of course it wasn't as rich tasting then, so I stirred in a couple of tablespoons of mango chutney which changed the flavor but I liked it as well. I think this might be one of those recipes that can be altered with what you have on hand and still be delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
I cooked this on the stove-top as did the others. My curry lover thought was delicious even without the mushrooms and onions. I added cooked egg-drop dumplings after it was baked (2 cups flour, 1 tsp. salt, 4 eggs and 1/2 cup cream. Blend, then drop dough by pieces into boiling water for 10 minutes). Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
Wonderful tasting recipe. Kept the ingredients the same but cooked it stove top. First sauted the onions until almost clear, then cooked the chicken with the onions and mixed the spices, then once chicken was cooked added the apples and cream of mushroom soup and last the half & half. Cooked for another 15 minutes when it was thickened. Didn't need the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2004
I've tried quite a few curry recipes, most of them complicated. This one is easy and good. I, however, don't trust microwave ovens (old-fashioned, I guess), so I browned the chicken, partially cooked the sauce in the microwave, then baked in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2004
This was great. My husband was skeptical about the apples but ended up liking it as well. I used boneless/skinless chicken breasts and milk instead of cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Coconut Chicken

See how to make quick-and-easy curried chicken.

Fragrant Lemon Chicken

See how to make a tender, juicy whole chicken in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Butter Chicken

Chicken simmers with Indian spices in a creamy coconut milk and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States