Curried Lentils Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
Cream of cocounut will make this thicker, but coconut milk will be excellent, too. I use curry powder, not curry paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELANIESAYSHI

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2005
This recipe was yummy with either coconut cream (coconut juice w/lots of sugar) or coconut milk. I added cooked rice and simmered until it was the consistancy I liked. Then serve it with raisins, coconut, chopped peanuts and other curry fixings! Great for those fasting from meat products!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
This turned out quite well. I think the spicyness all has to do with the curry paste. I made mine from scratch from a recipe I found on recipezaar.com/95907. Top with some mango chutney. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chamomille

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
I doubled the recipe since the can was roughly 1.5c of coconut milk. It came out awesome with half the curry paste called for - but I felt it needed more. But then, George likes his food spicy. Also, I added 1T of brown sugar which added to the flavor since I used coconut milk instead of cream of coconut. Fantastic over sushi rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
I tried this using some suggestions from other users, and it was fantastic!!! For a little extra flavor, I used organic vegetable broth instead of water. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vw

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmington, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
This recipe is very tasty. It's so easy to make and delicious with rice. I used chicken broth instead of water, I added some carrots(soooo good!) and a little bit of parsley. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veron123

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
I love this recipe! Cheap, fast, and tasty. I used coconut milk (not cream) and it was plenty thick and delicious. I also added shrimp that I cooked in some oil and curry powder. My curry powder is very mild, so I added a little cayenne pepper to help it along. Great over couscous or rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Excellent. I doubled the recipe and used a whole can of regular coconut milk. I added black pepper because it's in my natural moves... but I'll leave it out next time. I did buy curry paste, the red one, and IF I"D MEASURED :-) the flavor would have been not so hot. Looking back I think I put in 3 heaped tablespoons. :-) edible and still tasty though. If you do this or it's too hot, eat cottage cheese or plain yogurt with it. Kills the heat. Will make this again. It's a staple for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rockland, Maine, USA
Living In: Newton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
i even added some root veggies which made it soooo filling and yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
This was really great! I took the advice of other reviews, and made the following changes: used coconut milk instead of cream of coconut, used curry powder (1.5 tsp) instead of the paste. I also added raisins while the lentils were cooking, and topped with pistachios before eating. The raisins were soft and yummy, and gave it a perfect amount of sweetness! My 1-year-old is a fan. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Braised Black Lentils

See how to make black lentils braised in chicken stock.

Curried Quinoa with Garbanzos and Peppers

This curried quinoa uses ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Scallops with Arugula, Lentils, and Butter Beans

Beautifully seared scallops with wilted arugula, butter beans, and lentils.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States