Curried Lentils Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
Very good recipe, but I'd like to try to clear up some confusion: COCONUT MILK (not cream of coconut) is what is generally used for Thai Curry bases, and I believe that was the author's intent here. You should be able to find it in the international food aisle (not with the mixed drink materials). Curry paste is much stronger than curry powder -- I'd recommend no more than 1 teaspoon of the curry paste to begin (maybe even less), and then add to taste. 1 tablespoon will knock your taste-buds off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
Cream of cocounut will make this thicker, but coconut milk will be excellent, too. I use curry powder, not curry paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELANIESAYSHI

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
A decent recipe, but not much in it's own right. It's a good base recipe which you can add to or change, but alone it largely depends on the quality of curry paste (or powder) you use. I used low-fat coconut milk and curry powder, along with a dash of whatever garam masala ingredients I had on hand (a little cardamom, coriander, cinammon, and cumin). I also threw in a handful of raisins. Simple and satisfying dish over rice. My two-year old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
Whoa, Nelly! Loved the flavor, but it was hot, hot, hot. I will probably try it again, but will cut the curry paste in half. Make sure you have a glass of water at hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
Very good recipe. I used chicken broth in place of water and added about 1 1/2 tsp of curry paste. The broth was fiery while it was cooking but it's a bit more tame now. My hubby loves it. It's great served over Jasmine or Basmati rice. Very easy to make, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2005
This recipe was yummy with either coconut cream (coconut juice w/lots of sugar) or coconut milk. I added cooked rice and simmered until it was the consistancy I liked. Then serve it with raisins, coconut, chopped peanuts and other curry fixings! Great for those fasting from meat products!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I like this recipe because there are so many add-ins that you can use, and the ease of playing around with the base recipe. When I made it, I added some chicken that was chopped up and had been 'marinated' in curry powder. I also had it with coconut sprinkled on top. I used a full can of coconut milk. If I remember, I cooked it a bit longer than what is stated to get it down to the desired consistency. Eat with naan bread and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Free Soil, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
Had to cook it a bit longer than the recipe stated as it was too runny initially. Used 1 tablespoon of curry paste, and threw in some coconut and raisins. Really enjoyed it, even the kids said make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
I give this a 4, but hesitantly, and wavered between 3 and 4. It's a good recipe, and so easy, but I found it a bit runny for my taste, and let it simmer for a long time to battle that. I doubled the recipe, but only multiplied the coconut milk by 1.5 (note milk, not cream, based on other reviews), and I'm glad I did. Also used curry powder instead of paste to reduce the "heat" because my 1 year old was going to eat it. I'll probably make again mainly because it's so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APCOOKING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marmora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
This recipe is my standard potluck dish for the following reasons: 1.) None of the ingredients for recipe go bad, at least for many months. So I just make sure I never run out of these ingredients, and then when someone invites me to a party or potluck dinner, I always have something to make. 2.) It's vegan, so everyone can eat it, and hearty enough for your vegetarian friends to have something that counts more as a main dish--not just a salad thrown together at the last minute, or spaghetti. 3.) It's fairly easy to remember: cook the lentils in the broth (I always use broth instead of water) until they're softer than they were but not quite done, add the coconut milk and spices, cook until the lentils are soft, serve. Done and done. 4.) It's delicious, and it's always been a hit. In addition to the vegetable broth I usually add yellow raisins (at the very end--I stir them in once everything is done until they're plump) lemon, cayenne pepper, marjoram, garlic powder, and coriander--all to taste. No exact measurements--its hard to really mess up this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Braised Black Lentils

See how to make black lentils braised in chicken stock.

Curried Quinoa with Garbanzos and Peppers

This curried quinoa uses ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Scallops with Arugula, Lentils, and Butter Beans

Beautifully seared scallops with wilted arugula, butter beans, and lentils.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States