Curried Lentils Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2004
When I first looked at this recipe I wasn't sure what "cream of coconut" was. It sounded like cream based coconut soup to me. After looking up and down the aisles of an Asian market I decided that I thought the recipe had intended "coconut milk." That's what I used and it turned out well. It was very flavorful and spicy, though not too hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
Cream of cocounut will make this thicker, but coconut milk will be excellent, too. I use curry powder, not curry paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELANIESAYSHI

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2005
This recipe was yummy with either coconut cream (coconut juice w/lots of sugar) or coconut milk. I added cooked rice and simmered until it was the consistancy I liked. Then serve it with raisins, coconut, chopped peanuts and other curry fixings! Great for those fasting from meat products!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
Great flavor, but WAY too spicy. I would suggest using less than 1/2 of the amount of curry paste that the recipe calls for, and supplement the other 1/2 with curry powder, unless you LOVE spicy food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
I followed the recipe exactly and my boyfriend and I didn't like it, but we don't like lentils very much. I only tried it to get rid of some lentils I had lying around the house. If you like lentils, you might like this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
This turned out quite well. I think the spicyness all has to do with the curry paste. I made mine from scratch from a recipe I found on recipezaar.com/95907. Top with some mango chutney. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chamomille

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
Very good recipe, but I'd like to try to clear up some confusion: COCONUT MILK (not cream of coconut) is what is generally used for Thai Curry bases, and I believe that was the author's intent here. You should be able to find it in the international food aisle (not with the mixed drink materials). Curry paste is much stronger than curry powder -- I'd recommend no more than 1 teaspoon of the curry paste to begin (maybe even less), and then add to taste. 1 tablespoon will knock your taste-buds off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
I give this a 4, but hesitantly, and wavered between 3 and 4. It's a good recipe, and so easy, but I found it a bit runny for my taste, and let it simmer for a long time to battle that. I doubled the recipe, but only multiplied the coconut milk by 1.5 (note milk, not cream, based on other reviews), and I'm glad I did. Also used curry powder instead of paste to reduce the "heat" because my 1 year old was going to eat it. I'll probably make again mainly because it's so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APCOOKING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marmora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
Whoa, Nelly! Loved the flavor, but it was hot, hot, hot. I will probably try it again, but will cut the curry paste in half. Make sure you have a glass of water at hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
Very good recipe. I used chicken broth in place of water and added about 1 1/2 tsp of curry paste. The broth was fiery while it was cooking but it's a bit more tame now. My hubby loves it. It's great served over Jasmine or Basmati rice. Very easy to make, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Braised Black Lentils

See how to make black lentils braised in chicken stock.

Curried Quinoa with Garbanzos and Peppers

This curried quinoa uses ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Scallops with Arugula, Lentils, and Butter Beans

Beautifully seared scallops with wilted arugula, butter beans, and lentils.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States