Curried Lentils Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by pandabunny
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
I also added some garam marsala and garnished w green opnion. I served over batsami rice and also used veg broth instead of water when cooking the lentils. I liked it, and my 2-year old ate it up. Plus it's vegan, and that's nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pandabunny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I like this recipe because there are so many add-ins that you can use, and the ease of playing around with the base recipe. When I made it, I added some chicken that was chopped up and had been 'marinated' in curry powder. I also had it with coconut sprinkled on top. I used a full can of coconut milk. If I remember, I cooked it a bit longer than what is stated to get it down to the desired consistency. Eat with naan bread and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Free Soil, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
This is a good recipe, but a little bland. It's good to play with. Add things to it. It's hard to screw up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ella Fanther

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Simple and plain, but good! Had difficulty finding the coconut cream, but it's too runny with coconut milk. Solution = combine coconut milk with half and half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
This was a very good base recipe. I was looking for something Indian with no tomatoes and this hit the spot. I upped the recipe to make 6 servings to feed my fiance and have leftovers for lunch the next day. Used red lentils and reconstituted 2 veggie bullion cubes instead of plain water, also added about 3/4 cup shredded carrot and a can of baby peas. Threw it all in the crock pot and let it go for a few hours. Was still very watery when done (probably because I used coconut milk & soy milk instead of coconut cream) so I just added cooked basmati rice to the mix and turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vegan Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenmore, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
I tried this using some suggestions from other users, and it was fantastic!!! For a little extra flavor, I used organic vegetable broth instead of water. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vw

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmington, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
this recipe came out great except it was very sweet. I think it was the cream of coconut that i used. i had to add more lentils but besides that it was just wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
A decent recipe, but not much in it's own right. It's a good base recipe which you can add to or change, but alone it largely depends on the quality of curry paste (or powder) you use. I used low-fat coconut milk and curry powder, along with a dash of whatever garam masala ingredients I had on hand (a little cardamom, coriander, cinammon, and cumin). I also threw in a handful of raisins. Simple and satisfying dish over rice. My two-year old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
Had to cook it a bit longer than the recipe stated as it was too runny initially. Used 1 tablespoon of curry paste, and threw in some coconut and raisins. Really enjoyed it, even the kids said make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
This was really easy to make. I added steamed broccoli and cauliflower to mine. I also added some garlic and garam masala for my personal taste. It was really good with some soy sauce stirred into it. I'll make it again due to how easy it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MENMYTEDDY13

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Braised Black Lentils

See how to make black lentils braised in chicken stock.

Curried Quinoa with Garbanzos and Peppers

This curried quinoa uses ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Scallops with Arugula, Lentils, and Butter Beans

Beautifully seared scallops with wilted arugula, butter beans, and lentils.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States