Curried Lentils Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Simple and plain, but good! Had difficulty finding the coconut cream, but it's too runny with coconut milk. Solution = combine coconut milk with half and half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
This was a very good base recipe. I was looking for something Indian with no tomatoes and this hit the spot. I upped the recipe to make 6 servings to feed my fiance and have leftovers for lunch the next day. Used red lentils and reconstituted 2 veggie bullion cubes instead of plain water, also added about 3/4 cup shredded carrot and a can of baby peas. Threw it all in the crock pot and let it go for a few hours. Was still very watery when done (probably because I used coconut milk & soy milk instead of coconut cream) so I just added cooked basmati rice to the mix and turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vegan Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenmore, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
I tried this using some suggestions from other users, and it was fantastic!!! For a little extra flavor, I used organic vegetable broth instead of water. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vw

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmington, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
this recipe came out great except it was very sweet. I think it was the cream of coconut that i used. i had to add more lentils but besides that it was just wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
A decent recipe, but not much in it's own right. It's a good base recipe which you can add to or change, but alone it largely depends on the quality of curry paste (or powder) you use. I used low-fat coconut milk and curry powder, along with a dash of whatever garam masala ingredients I had on hand (a little cardamom, coriander, cinammon, and cumin). I also threw in a handful of raisins. Simple and satisfying dish over rice. My two-year old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
Had to cook it a bit longer than the recipe stated as it was too runny initially. Used 1 tablespoon of curry paste, and threw in some coconut and raisins. Really enjoyed it, even the kids said make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
This was really easy to make. I added steamed broccoli and cauliflower to mine. I also added some garlic and garam masala for my personal taste. It was really good with some soy sauce stirred into it. I'll make it again due to how easy it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MENMYTEDDY13

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
I doubled the recipe since the can was roughly 1.5c of coconut milk. It came out awesome with half the curry paste called for - but I felt it needed more. But then, George likes his food spicy. Also, I added 1T of brown sugar which added to the flavor since I used coconut milk instead of cream of coconut. Fantastic over sushi rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
Very good recipe. I used chicken broth in place of water and added about 1 1/2 tsp of curry paste. The broth was fiery while it was cooking but it's a bit more tame now. My hubby loves it. It's great served over Jasmine or Basmati rice. Very easy to make, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
Whoa, Nelly! Loved the flavor, but it was hot, hot, hot. I will probably try it again, but will cut the curry paste in half. Make sure you have a glass of water at hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Braised Black Lentils

See how to make black lentils braised in chicken stock.

Curried Quinoa with Garbanzos and Peppers

This curried quinoa uses ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Scallops with Arugula, Lentils, and Butter Beans

Beautifully seared scallops with wilted arugula, butter beans, and lentils.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States