Curried Lentils Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I liked the recipe, but the brand of cream of coconut I used made it way too sweet. My lentils also came out a little underdone. I'll have to choose another brand of coconut more carefully, or tweak the recipe a bit. Otherwise, I think the sauce is a great base for adding other ingredients; it has a very Thai flavor. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
A little too sweet for us so next time I'm going to use less of the coconut cream. VERY easy recipe and a great way to get lentils in a picky kid!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edgerton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Good recipe - I had to modify it just a touch after reading a few of the other reviews however. I used mild curry paste (1 tablespoon) and a full can of coconut milk along with 3/4 cup lentils. A little dash of agave juice sweetened up the coconut flavor and a few chopped mild onions added a bit of texture and it was perfect :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
This was pretty good. I went too heavy on the curry powder, so it was a little overly spicy for me. I added sauteed peppers, onions, and garlic and served over brown rice with broccoli. Overall, a healthy a quick meal. Will probably make again with a few tweaks to decrease the spiciness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
I love this recipe! Cheap, fast, and tasty. I used coconut milk (not cream) and it was plenty thick and delicious. I also added shrimp that I cooked in some oil and curry powder. My curry powder is very mild, so I added a little cayenne pepper to help it along. Great over couscous or rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
I really liked this. I am on the spicy team - so I put in the curry paste slowly as recommended by the reviews and found I wanted the whole Tablespoon. I used a red curry paste I like, and am excited to try it next time with a green one. It is great. It is easy - and I topped mine with a dollop of plain yogurt to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
well this is something that does take getting used to or acquire a taste for. I had to put 3 Tablespoons of curry paste and still the very very sweet taste from the cream of coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dchavez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
This recipe is very tasty. It's so easy to make and delicious with rice. I used chicken broth instead of water, I added some carrots(soooo good!) and a little bit of parsley. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veron123

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
I used coconut milk instead of cream, too. I really didn't add any other seasonings besides green onions and cilantro, but I definitely did *not* add as much curry paste as they were asking! I doubled the recipe and still only added about two teaspoons and it was spicy enough! Maybe they were using a mild curry paste? Otherwise this was an excellent recipe especially when you let the liquids simmer down thick. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faeli H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Angeles City, Pampanga, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pandabunny
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
I also added some garam marsala and garnished w green opnion. I served over batsami rice and also used veg broth instead of water when cooking the lentils. I liked it, and my 2-year old ate it up. Plus it's vegan, and that's nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pandabunny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Braised Black Lentils

See how to make black lentils braised in chicken stock.

Curried Quinoa with Garbanzos and Peppers

This curried quinoa uses ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Scallops with Arugula, Lentils, and Butter Beans

Beautifully seared scallops with wilted arugula, butter beans, and lentils.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States