Curried Lentils Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 4, 2012
This recipe is my standard potluck dish for the following reasons: 1.) None of the ingredients for recipe go bad, at least for many months. So I just make sure I never run out of these ingredients, and then when someone invites me to a party or potluck dinner, I always have something to make. 2.) It's vegan, so everyone can eat it, and hearty enough for your vegetarian friends to have something that counts more as a main dish--not just a salad thrown together at the last minute, or spaghetti. 3.) It's fairly easy to remember: cook the lentils in the broth (I always use broth instead of water) until they're softer than they were but not quite done, add the coconut milk and spices, cook until the lentils are soft, serve. Done and done. 4.) It's delicious, and it's always been a hit. In addition to the vegetable broth I usually add yellow raisins (at the very end--I stir them in once everything is done until they're plump) lemon, cayenne pepper, marjoram, garlic powder, and coriander--all to taste. No exact measurements--its hard to really mess up this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Delicious! I'm amazed at how good this is considering how simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StacyB1012
Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
AMAZING... when done with the changes "Heather" wrote. Add spices and a hand full of raisins, meow!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 932ninja

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA
Living In: Cantonment, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
This was really great! I took the advice of other reviews, and made the following changes: used coconut milk instead of cream of coconut, used curry powder (1.5 tsp) instead of the paste. I also added raisins while the lentils were cooking, and topped with pistachios before eating. The raisins were soft and yummy, and gave it a perfect amount of sweetness! My 1-year-old is a fan. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
i even added some root veggies which made it soooo filling and yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Excellent. I doubled the recipe and used a whole can of regular coconut milk. I added black pepper because it's in my natural moves... but I'll leave it out next time. I did buy curry paste, the red one, and IF I"D MEASURED :-) the flavor would have been not so hot. Looking back I think I put in 3 heaped tablespoons. :-) edible and still tasty though. If you do this or it's too hot, eat cottage cheese or plain yogurt with it. Kills the heat. Will make this again. It's a staple for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rockland, Maine, USA
Living In: Newton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I liked the recipe, but the brand of cream of coconut I used made it way too sweet. My lentils also came out a little underdone. I'll have to choose another brand of coconut more carefully, or tweak the recipe a bit. Otherwise, I think the sauce is a great base for adding other ingredients; it has a very Thai flavor. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
A little too sweet for us so next time I'm going to use less of the coconut cream. VERY easy recipe and a great way to get lentils in a picky kid!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edgerton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Good recipe - I had to modify it just a touch after reading a few of the other reviews however. I used mild curry paste (1 tablespoon) and a full can of coconut milk along with 3/4 cup lentils. A little dash of agave juice sweetened up the coconut flavor and a few chopped mild onions added a bit of texture and it was perfect :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
This was pretty good. I went too heavy on the curry powder, so it was a little overly spicy for me. I added sauteed peppers, onions, and garlic and served over brown rice with broccoli. Overall, a healthy a quick meal. Will probably make again with a few tweaks to decrease the spiciness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Braised Black Lentils

See how to make black lentils braised in chicken stock.

Curried Quinoa with Garbanzos and Peppers

This curried quinoa uses ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Scallops with Arugula, Lentils, and Butter Beans

Beautifully seared scallops with wilted arugula, butter beans, and lentils.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States