Curried Leek Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
This soup has become something I cook practically weekly. I am severely allergic to chicken so I use vegetable stock and "Not Chick'n" bullion cubes, I'm also allergic to dairy, so I use either almond milk or coconut milk. The results are excellent. I especially like thickening the soup with a puréed vegetables instead of cornstarch or gluten free flour (yeah allergic to gluten too), and I am looking to use that thickening method in my other recipes. Thank you for sharing this recipe with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
This is a great soup. I add more curry powder than the recipe suggests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
I used 1% milk and it was good, probably not as thick, but it was still very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
We loved this soup! It was full of flavor and so filling. I did add 2 baked, diced chicken breasts and a diced potato just to make it stretch for my family of 6. I did everything else exactly as written. Served with buttered SF sourdough, it was amazing. I highly recommend and look forward to making it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crockpot queen
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
First curried thing I've ever liked. I was uncertain as to whether it was red or black pepper... Went with red. Added 1 1/2 t curry and ~1 t red pepper, to make it spicy enough for me. Added about 1-2 C extra water at the end as it had cooked down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Incredibly easy & the curry gives it the extra something to make this soup stand out. Definite crowd pleaser & keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Placentia, California, USA
Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Great soup! I added a potato, ginger, and extra curry powder per recommendation of other reviews. I also didn't skimp on the garlic or pepper. I threw in a llittle dried basil and cayenne (I wanted a little kick of heat)--turned out pretty yummy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Pretty tasty and very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
So simple and so good! Thank you! I used the complete leeks and wasn't that fussy with measurements of veggies. I took another suggestion and used coconut milk and it was fantastic. Made it again with just water and a little more bullion and it was still great. Also added red cabbage for a little color. Perfect pot for fall weather!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States