Curried Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
I made this differently as well. I actually used one clove of Elephant garlic, half an onion and sauteed them with the garbanzo beans. I used the juice from 1 lemon, 2 tbsp. of Tahini (homemade) and only used 3 tsp. of the curry. I also decided to use two cloves of black garlic and some Siracha instead of hot sauce. It turned out amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monet Burnett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Too much curry. I should have checked the comments before I made it. It's ok, but I'm going to keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Excellent. I made some modifications I used 4 cups of garbanzo beans (cooked) but the lemon was too strong so I added another cup of beans (I pressure cook my own) and 3 more cloves of garlic and additional 1 1/2 teaspoons of curry powder along with about 1/2 cup of Tahini. It is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
I like Curry, but none of us liked it whatsoever. I used the traditional tahini paste. But nothing cut the over powering curry. Gonna try again with maybe a pinch of curry, maybe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Delicious! i will make this recipe again! it is very flavorful! I added a little water and more oil to thin it down to my preference
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I love the concept of this recipe and will be play around with it some more. I cut the water down to 1/4 cup and it came out the perfect consistency but next time I will cut the lemon juice down to 3 or 4 tablespoons....6 turned out to be way too much and the lemon is overpowering the curry (I used 2 1/2 teaspoons curry as it will get stronger as it sits before I bring it to a party as a dish to pass). Overall a great start though! Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KearstonDanielle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
Yummy Yummy! I've tried making hummus in the past and I don't like the fact that I have to buy tahini paste - which something I don't use much. But this recipe is awesome. Everything it called for I had in my pantry and it was easy and quick to make. I added the curry powder and lemon a bit at a time so I could make it such that it was perfect to my taste. Overall, a fabulous recipe. Ill be taking this dip to a tea party this weekend :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
Halved the recipe. Added chili powder and hot sauce in the middle to look fancy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liliana Magdaleno

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I made this as written, except I reduced the water by 2 tbs. It tastes great, just like curry hummus should. I notice those who gave it bad ratings complained about the curry taste--it's not going to taste like regular hummus, it should taste like curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
First time making hummus, and I really enjoyed the final product! I actually blended this recipe with the Real Hummus recipe (see bottom link). I added 2 tablespoons of tahini, and only 5 tablespoons of lemon juice and only used 1/3 cup of water. I also omitted the hot sauce since my pregnant wife has been having trouble with spicy foods. Next time I make this I'll probably end up cutting the lemon juice down to 4 tablespoons, garlic down to 2 cloves and curry powder down to 3 teaspoons. It's delicious, but it seems like it's a just a little bit too much of everything. http://allrecipes.com/recipe/real-hummus/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Real Hummus

This bean dip is healthy and delicious--and so easy to make.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States