Curried Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
Easy and excellent! I'd go easy on the curry powder as you can always add more later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
Pretty tasty! Will be a good spread on falafels I am making for dinner later in the week. Good recipe if you don't have tahini on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
I hated the lemon taste and so did my family, a rare case of everyone agreeing. I threw it all away BUT I am going to try it again with little or no lemon because I do think the recipe should work well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Guatemala City, Guatemala, Guatemala

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
i brought this to potluck and it was a hit. I'm not used to curry so next time i make this, i will use a little less. Overall it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JO~Lite
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I've never tasted hummus before so I'm not sure if this tastes authentic but I do know it tastes good. I plan on taking this along with some chips to work for lunch tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JO~Lite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
Perhaps it would be better if I cut down the lemon juice. I did scale the recipe in exactly 1/2 via the online tool so that shouldn't have messed anything up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Very easy and extremely quick to make. Tasted great but just my preference to make it with more garlic and no curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iron James

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
I love hummus, and this is the best I think I've ever made. The curry makes it terrific, the texture is excellent, and the recipe is adaptable. I did add two tablespoons of sesame tahini. One thing that I am in the habit of doing with hummus is mixing all of the ingredients *except* the garbanzo beans. This creates a dressing of sorts, and more evenly blends the flavors. Then, slowly pour this dressing into the food processor with the garbanzo beans. It really does make a difference, and prevents the hummus from having super-spicy or bland spots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
I'm giving this recipe 5 stars but I changed it quite a bit to fit my own taste, I just don't thinks it's fair to ding a recipe that wasn't followed. My changes were meant to make a smaller batch and to match my tastes and it turned out fantastic. 1 - 16oz can "Bush" Chick Peas, 1 Tablespoons Tahini, 2 to 3 Tablespoons Olive Oil, 3 garlic cloves, 1 Teaspoon yellow curry powder, 2 Tablespoons Lemon Juice, 1/8 to 1/4 cup filtered water, dash salt, 2 dashes hot sauce. This turned out magnificent. The amount of curry was flavorful but not overwhelming. The garlic was VERY notable so if you want to reduce the garlic you can, I just love garlic and loved this so much I will make it over and over again! Update; I made this again for a party and this time I followed the recipe exactly and while I still enjoyed it, I think it was just so so for my guests. There was a lot left at the end of an eight hour party with 23 people in attendance :( my son who loves Indian food and who loves hummus thought it was just so so for him. I think this would be good in a hummus sampler type serving tray with a variety of other flavors to sample but on its own as the main hummus dip, not so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What's Cookin'

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
I'm not a fan of curry, but was pleasantly surprised by how good this was. The consistency was just right for dipping too. I used 3 t. spicy curry seasoning and added a dash of cayenne for some extra heat. Hubby loved it, and it would be an easy crowd pleaser for a potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Worthington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Real Hummus

This bean dip is healthy and delicious--and so easy to make.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States