Curried Hash Browns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by YrbkMgr
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Awesome spin on country style hash browns. I like spicy food - very spicy. Used one tbsp hot curry powder (as original poster suggested), 2 Serrano peppers, and didn't have cilantro, so I used parsley. It would be better with cilantro, but was very nice anyway. I added harissa to the top, and it was simply nummy! A great way to kick up hash browns. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
This recipe is fantastic! I used frozen hasbrowns from the freezer and defrosted them in the microwave before cooking. So easy and so delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Portland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I already make something similar to this - it's almost a samosa filling without all the hassle of making samosa dough and the extra calories involved in frying it. I start with a little oil, adding some whole cumin and coriander seed to the oil and letting them pop before adding the potatoes - oil because the butter would burn on its own. (If you really want to be Indian, throw in some black mustard seed and let it pop!) You could actually use just oil but I like the idea of some butter in there. Some green chili, and a little fresh ginger and garlic in with the onions are also nice additions. I prefer the flavor of a nice garam masala to curry powder but it's all good. Try it with some tamarind or mango chutney!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Yum-my! Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandygirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carrollton, Texas, USA
Living In: Grovetown, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
I'm eating this dish right now for breakfast and I must say I'm impressed for someone who hates regular curry. I added some eggs on the side and used tater tots instead (mushed them up). It has a very nice zip to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Garden City, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
This was a great blend of flavors. Granted, I like Indian food and curries (as well as hash browns). Like another reviewer, I used olive oil instead of butter. I had it with some tomato-apple chutney on the side. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GaryL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
Yummy! Similar to potatoes my favorite brunch place makes. I used olive oil instead of butter, skipped the green onions since I didn't have any on hand, and added cumin. Very good with ketchup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
Hi, this is the creator of this recipe. Just letting you all know that 1/2 tsp of curry powder is *not enough.* When I submitted the recipe, I wrote "to taste." 1/2 tsp is not even in the ballpark.... it should be around a tablespoon (more or less - hence, "to taste") but certainly not 1/2 tsp if you want any effect at all from the curry. Allrecipes takes a long time to respond to recipe change requests, so I thought I would make a note here until the recipe is changed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beckerkorn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Hash Browns

Chef John shows you how to make diner-style hash browns with a perfect crust.

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

Cheesy Hash Browns

It’s like a fully loaded baked potato, casserole-style, for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States