Curried Ham Popover Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2001
I couldn't convince my daughter to taste this, but my husband and I loved it! It was super-quick and easy. As suggested, it tasted great with chutney and I'm sure that it would be good with some yogurt, too. I'm going to forward the recipe to my mother, who is always looking for quick, easy recipes. It's definitely going into meal-planning rotation at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lianne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2002
I thought this recipe was great, but I must confess what I cooked was not exactly the original recipe. I loved the idea of a popover topping. What I ended up with was the original plus some cooked potatoes, frozen carrots and about a cup of frozen stew vegetables. As for the batter, I didn't have curry as I'd thought, so substituted dry mustard and chives. It still could have had more flavor but I will be happy to keep trying by adjusting the amounts and trying new ingredients (maybe in place of the potatoes). Thanks, Roxanne, for a great, basic recipe I promise to try your way one of these meals. I'm sure it will have more flavor but I just felt I had to try more than onions and peppers the first time around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2003
Combined reading of recipe and its reviews before trying it. Agree with several reviewers that addition of vegetables enhances the recipe. It is a basic for a variety of meat/vegetable combinations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
very good easy recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2003
This was very good. I used smoked turkey lunchmeat, which I diced, and I used about 2 tsp or so of curry, and it came out great! Very easy. I would like to try this with other fillings and seasonings as well. Plenty of room for variation on this one...Thanks for the inspiring recipe, Roxanne!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
This was very good and very easy as well. I tripled the amount of curry to 1 1/2 tsp. Next time I will probably up it to 2 tsp and add some to the ham instead of just the batter. I also added mixed veggies and minced onions instead of peppers and green onions and threw in 1/2 tsp of baking powder to the batter. My three year old loved this too. I'm sure I'll make this again and experiment with different fillings and spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakdale, New York, USA
Living In: Riverhead, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
The only problem I had was guessing the size pan to put it in, I made the wrong choice and put it in one too large. Next time I will try a pie pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fenwick, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cantley, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
Good and super-easy. I couldn't taste the curry at all, but my husband said it was good as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2002
I used this for leftover Easter ham and it was pretty easy (although I've no idea how much "1 lb." of ham is since I have no scale in my kitchen). It was quite tasty and was good as leftovers too. Next time I may add some tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2002
Nice and quick for a weeknight dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Just Ham and Eggs

This is fuss-free food at its finest.

Tangy Honey Glazed Ham

Pineapple juice, honey, and Dijon create a tangy glaze for baked ham.

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States