Curried Ham Popover Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
This was very good and very easy as well. I tripled the amount of curry to 1 1/2 tsp. Next time I will probably up it to 2 tsp and add some to the ham instead of just the batter. I also added mixed veggies and minced onions instead of peppers and green onions and threw in 1/2 tsp of baking powder to the batter. My three year old loved this too. I'm sure I'll make this again and experiment with different fillings and spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakdale, New York, USA
Living In: Riverhead, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2002
I thought this recipe was great, but I must confess what I cooked was not exactly the original recipe. I loved the idea of a popover topping. What I ended up with was the original plus some cooked potatoes, frozen carrots and about a cup of frozen stew vegetables. As for the batter, I didn't have curry as I'd thought, so substituted dry mustard and chives. It still could have had more flavor but I will be happy to keep trying by adjusting the amounts and trying new ingredients (maybe in place of the potatoes). Thanks, Roxanne, for a great, basic recipe I promise to try your way one of these meals. I'm sure it will have more flavor but I just felt I had to try more than onions and peppers the first time around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
The only problem I had was guessing the size pan to put it in, I made the wrong choice and put it in one too large. Next time I will try a pie pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fenwick, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cantley, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2004
This tasted fine, however it was definitely more of a frittata than a popover. Perhaps if some baking powder was added to the extra mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2001
I couldn't convince my daughter to taste this, but my husband and I loved it! It was super-quick and easy. As suggested, it tasted great with chutney and I'm sure that it would be good with some yogurt, too. I'm going to forward the recipe to my mother, who is always looking for quick, easy recipes. It's definitely going into meal-planning rotation at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lianne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
The recipe doesn't state what size pan to use so I went with a 9" cake pan - a 10" Cast Iron skillet would have worked better. The batter itself needs some salt - not a lot but without it the batter tastes pretty blah... I used red peppers instead of green and followed the recipe as written. This was just OK for us - nothing stunning but not bad either. If I were to make this again I would start with a really hot cast iron skillet and into the hot oven. It would probably have puffed a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2003
This makes a good breakfast for low-carbers sick to death of scrambled eggs. Modifications: I used 1/2 cup LC bake mix instead of 3/4 cup flour which reduced total carbs by 57 g, doubled the green pepper and added 1 cup of mushrooms. This brought carbohydrates to 6.8 g/serving instead of 17! The flavor was pretty good, but it was quite salty, probably due to the ham I used. Kids weren't huge fans, but I'd definitely do it again -- it's VERY EASY and a nice break from plain eggs in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
very good easy recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
Good and super-easy. I couldn't taste the curry at all, but my husband said it was good as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
I would make this again with the addition of brocalli, cheddar and delete the curry and green peppers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Just Ham and Eggs

This is fuss-free food at its finest.

Tangy Honey Glazed Ham

Pineapple juice, honey, and Dijon create a tangy glaze for baked ham.

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States