Curried Egg-white Salad Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Trying to add more curry to the diet, I came looking for an egg salad recipe; I wasn't disappointed. This is a very flavorful recipe and adds just enough punch of everything to really satisfy the taste buds. What a change from basic egg salad. Like other viewers, I used the whole egg, a little more curry and cayenne for a bit of heat. Only thing I would change would be not using toasted wheat bread ... no fault of the recipe though, and will try toasted white next time. Thanks for sharing a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Very good. Giving it four stars because it just seemed a little bland to me when I made it as written. Once I added more curry powder (maybe enough to double what was written) and added grapes, it was delicious!!! Also made it with egg yolks to not miss the great nutrition in the pastured yolks. Just needed to add a little more mayo with the extra volume of egg. Great quick lunch. Will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
I really enjoyed this. Nice change for egg salad. I did use the whole egg though. I also added 1/8 t of cayenne, because we like a little heat. But it would be just as good without the Cayenne. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daschie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Brusly, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
I followed this recipe loosely but I skipped the vinegar and onions and it turned out to be the best egg salad that i've ever had. Two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jude7186

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami Lakes, Florida, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
My favorite egg salad - curry gives it that something special
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Placentia, California, USA
Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I love this recipe. The flavors blend so well together. I will be making this a lot. The crunch from the onion is perfect.. My husband loved it too and he is a picky eater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
I enjoy the zippy flavor of this egg salad, but, find that, even with the addition of a yolk or two, it is too loose for a proper sandwich. I like to serve this in a whole wheat pita pocket or with triscuits/toast points. As others have noted, the salad greatly benefits from a night in the fridge to allow the flavors to meld. I have made this many times and customize as follows: replace half of mayo with greek style yogurt, incorporate 1 egg yolk, add 1/2 stalk celery finely chopped, 1 small thai green chilli finely chopped, add 1/2 tsp more white wine vinegar, celery salt to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOTHEBOMB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
This was really good - I cut the recipe in half and used one whole egg, one egg white. I reduced the vinegar to a scant 1/4 tsp and used chopped scallions instead of sliced red onion. I used to be one of those people who disliked curry, but I'm starting to really like it now, and I've found that I especially like it with eggs. This was really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
I just made this with Easter eggs that we had dyed. I added 2 Tablespoons of finely chopped celery and used dried parsley versus fresh. This recipe is excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Living In: La Plata, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I give this recipe only two stars. Possibly because I had high expectations from the reviews, but more because the it had a bitter taste. I think I would have been better off just using egg whites, mustard, mayo and some salt and pepper. The vinegar was too much with the curry. I love egg salad sandwich and this is definitely not a great substitute. adding maybe only 1 egg yolk would have made all the difference in the world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Egg Salad I

See how to make an egg salad with lots of tangy mustard and dill weed.

How to Make Egg Salad

See how to make a simple, satisfying egg salad.

How to Make Chicken Salad

See how to make a tasty, tangy chicken salad in three simple steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States