Curried Cream of Any Veggie Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Soooo good! Exactly what I was looking for. I used a milk with a slightly higher fat content and added left over chicken with carrots and potatos. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
I just made this, and wow is it ugly! It tastes alright, though. A little bland, a little thin. I'm thinking it would be better with 2% milk, a little more garlic and plenty of salt and pepper. Some red peppers would probably help, too. I just used cauliflower and asparagus, and the asparagus definitely tastes better. The cauliflower is just bland, bland, bland. I noticed that someone suggested to not let the milk mixture boil. Actually, the milk mix must boil in order for the flour to reach its full thickening effect. Just make sure you don't let it boil over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
I love this soup - the only reason I wouldn't rate it as a five is because 1) I LOVE curry and 2) I LOVE low fat stuff. Basically, I would not expect my husband and kids to enjoy this. But I will make it again for sure. This time I used potatoes, carrots, corn and peas. It was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunnywalk

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2005
This one just didn't impress me, although I love the idea of adding curry. I'm going to try to find a creamier soup recipe, and add curry to that. This soup seemed a little too thin for my taste, although I used 2% milk and doubled the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeside, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
I made some changes to this recipe and it's fantastic! Possibly the best soup I've ever had. I add chicken, peas, and par boiled potatoes to make it a hearty soup. I also add extra curry powder, the amount in the recipe is not enough for my liking. And I use 2% milk instead of the low fat milk, I find this makes the soup much creamier and tastier! My family loves it, I make double the recipe and freeze it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
This soup was ok. My kids didn't care for it and we didn't like it enough to make again. It just didn't wow us. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2003
This soup was really good, and surprisingly easy to make! I didn't have enough vegetables on hand to use, so I added cooked brown rice to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2002
Followed the suggestions of a precious reviewer and used tatties, corn, and zucchini. Also added the broccoli, mushrooms, carrots, and celery. Used more fresh garlic and regular curry powder, so it wouldn't be as plain. Added a *small* amount of green Thai curry paste for that extra kick. Substituted plain soyamilk and vegetable broth to make veg*n friendly. Pretty thick and chunky. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2001
Great tasting and easy to make. I found that I needed to add curry powder as well - for flavour rather than heat. It is great pureed too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2001
This was quite good. I added cayenne pepper as well to satisfy my spicy appetite. Also, instead of curry paste I used powder- I'm from a small town and we can't get the paste here. I used about 1 1/2 tablespoons. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States