Curried Coconut Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
Overall it was a good base for a simple curry dish. I added some fresh minced ginger and a Jalapeno. I also created a slurry of 2 Tblsp Cornstarch and equal amount of water to thicken it up a bit since it was kind of watery. Next time, I would add some veggies (Peas, Peppers, etc.), omit the sugar and add another Tbsp. of curry powder and possibly add some Cayenne pepper or ground Thai chili peppers. It was a little bland for my taste, the curry flavor was masked by the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2015
Delicious! I would add red chilis next time for a little spice. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2015
Like most people I did make changes to the recipe. I still think that the recipe deserves 5 stars because even though I didn't follow it exactly I couldnt have made the meal I did without it. First I used chicken thighs cut up instead of breasts. After chicken was done cooking in curry oil I added sliced zucchini, sliced yellow squash, peas, and chopped yellow pepper because I wanted some vegetables. I omitted the tomato sauce altogether but did use canned diced tomatoes. Also used generic lite coconut milk. I didnt have to add a curry paste or anything. I followed the recipe exactly except for those changes. I served it over mashed cauliflower instead of rice and it was delicious. It was very soupy but I don't mind. Might want to thicken it up if you want a thicker sauce. This recipe will become a regular in my rotation. This was absolutely yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaymee Lee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2015
My family and I love this recipe! It is simple and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
We love this recipe. It's easy, and tastes great. It DOES taste like a fancy tomato soup when its done, but it's good. I do recommend you cook it for as long as you can...at least 30mins. The juices will thicken up and make a lovely sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSSPARKLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
I made this as directed and thought it was too sweet and didn't have any depth. Since I didn't care for it as written, I added a little vinegar to try to cut the sweetness, soy sauce, fresh vegetables and black beans. I topped it with avocado and put it over brown rice. If I make it again, I would make it as I had adjusted it, but otherwise I will look for a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TCapri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newport, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
Good recipe! I made as written except used a bit of tomato paste w/water instead of sauce & I simmered uncovered for the time recommended. Forgot to add the sugar, but I used 1Tbs. Penzey's Sweet Curry powder & 1Tbs. Penzey's Hot Curry powder and didn't think it needed any more sweet. Very good basic coconut curry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
This was THE best curry recipe that I've ever made. 10/10
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litlmissmuffette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
Absolutely Delicious! Not sure if this would be considered Indian or Thai, but I would say it rivals any similar dish served at the best of these restaurants around here. I followed the recipe as written, but used about half as much sugar (after tasting the sauce, 3 Tblsp. seemed a little too much). I also added some cubed potatoes, carrots, and frozen peas to get in some veggies:) Served with basmati rice and simple cucumber salad. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
This is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Habib Wicks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,948) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Coconut Chicken

See how to make quick-and-easy curried chicken.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States