Curried Chicken with Mango Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2013
This recipe is amazingly flavorful and super easy! I love that it can all cook in one pan. That being said, browning the chicken first is a good idea; it may not get done all the way through at the low temp for the rice. I also took the recommendation to saute some garlic and onion in the pan before starting the rice, and the flavors really complemented the sweetness of the mango. I recommend using jasmine rice. Just add an extra 1/2 cup of liquid (preferably water or broth). For a more intense curry flavor, marinating the chicken 4-8 hours lets the spice seep into the meat. Delicious! A different flavor from the usual without being overpowering or objectionable--even my two-year-old ate some!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Chicken a little dry but otherwise tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
I can't give this 5 stars because I changed it. I followed the first step of the recipe and put the chicken in the oven to bake. I only used chicken broth (no wine) with the rice and cooked it stovetop with the brown sugar and parsley. When the chicken was almost done, I added ginger, a dash of garlic powder, mango and sliced peaches to the chicken. Then I let the fruit warm slightly to blend the flavors. Served it over the rice with a dash of red pepper flake. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by morningsky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Yummy! I did the garlic and oil too. I also cut the chicken into strips. Hoping my hubby likes, it was way too easy to make. Thought I was doing something wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Great recipe, and easy weeknight dish. I used low fat coconut milk and skipped the broth; you may need to add a little water (depending on how long you simmer it.) It is one of the best chicken recipes I've found on allrecipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Suwanee, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Overall great, although brown rice took waaaay longer to cook than 20-25 mins in the recipe. I added more curry and didn't use wine at all. Definitely will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
We LOVED this! Our mangos were bearly ripe and lended a zing to this dish. Thank you Linda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jcrow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
A little bland. I would add more curry powder to the rice itself and some cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Fantastic - I added another 1/2 cup of wine to rice and will brown chicken first next time, since I lost some of the flavor when boiled with the rice. Everyone loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Great flavour. The mango made it nice, and sweeter... more curry maybe next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Szechuan Mango Chicken

Learn how to make sweet and spicy Szechuan-style chicken and mango.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States