Curried Chicken with Mango Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2003
EASY!!!!!! This is a simple recipe that tastes like you worked a long time to prepare. My husband & I both thought this was a keeper. Since I didn't have chicken broth, I used chicken bouillon with water to make the broth. I also used instant rice. I had never used mango before & I really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
Absolutely loved this recipe! Very easy to make, but looks like you spent a lot of time preparing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2003
This was soooo easy and amazingly delicious! I didn't have any white wine on hand, so I used vermouth. I also substituted chicken boullion and water for the chicken broth. The rice was amazing and complemented the chicken perfectly. And the best part? This all happened in one pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JBKINCAID

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
I loved this recipe. Especially the rice, I couldn't get enough. I did take the advice to brown the chicken first as well as the onion garlic ginger mixture....I also used a full cup of white wine. I don't think the recipe would could have done without the ginger. Wonderful!! The smell is fantastic and it is so simple. My eight year old loved it too. Next time I think I will cube the chicken or Marinade before hand for a more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
Very Nice. Well received dinner at my table. I too saute'd onions and garlic ( left out the ginger because my curry already had sufficient heat ) and browned the chicken. This was excellent with a vegie melange side dish that included green peas and some apples for sweetness to offset the heat of my balti curry powder. The mango was a great addition to the rice. We will have this again .. and it makes a great lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
I tried this on my family first. I cook for a house for troubled young men so I wanted something different to try. I'll add more curry powder on chicken next time. Rice is excellent and the whole thing took very little time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2005
This recipe had incredible flavor, was such a change from the normal boring chicken recipe. I did take the advice of others and tweak it a bit....I marinated the chicken all day in 2 tsp curry powder, 1/2 tsp. ground ginger, black pepper and salt, then sauteed until just done and golden brown in skillet, removing chicken then adding 2 cloves of minced garlic, 1/4 cup of vidalia onion and a dash of olive oil. When the onion was just translucent I added the chicken broth (which I increased to 1 1/2 cups per someone else's recommendation, we don't like crisp rice) and all other ingredients. Near the end I added the chicken, cubed, back in along with an additional 1 tsp of curry, red pepper flakes, a dash of cayenne for some heat (using Madras curry powder, not enough heat for us!) and the result was an absolute fantastic dish that my husband is still raving about. The mangoes added a wonderful sweet tartness that went so well with the curry and slight pop from the cayenne. I also added grated carrot and thawed frozen peas in the last 10 minutes or so which gave us a great, healthy meal in less than an hour, and only one dish to wash!!! Please try this recipe, and Thank You! Linda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
My husband and I loved this recipe! I browned the chicken first then added the rice and other ingredients. I also added light coconut milk and pepper in the last 5 minutes of cooking. I decided to add the mango at the end so it wouldn't get mushy. My husband said to be sure to put this recipe on the "rotation".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2006
I made this the other night for my boyfriend (who loves mangoes) and I have never seen a bigger smile on his face. I ended up adding about a 1/2 cup of coconut milk at the last 5 minutes and it was absolutely perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K23KoR

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
My family enjoys this recipe. We use jasmine rice instead of white rice though. It goes really well with the mango flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Szechuan Mango Chicken

Learn how to make sweet and spicy Szechuan-style chicken and mango.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States