Curried Chicken with Mango Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
I tried this on my family first. I cook for a house for troubled young men so I wanted something different to try. I'll add more curry powder on chicken next time. Rice is excellent and the whole thing took very little time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2005
I actually made this recipe as-is, save for cubing the chicken before tossing it in the pot. It was pretty good. I'll probably take the advice of the other reviewers regarding a little onion and garlic next time because the original recipe was missing something, but it wasn't obvious as to what. Definately a recipe that I'll toy around with, but close to perfect already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2005
Not impressed with the recipe as it stands, but if I had taken the time to read other reviews I would have added more ingredients and browned the chicken. My husband enjoyed the dish, but I felt it needed more flavor. Also, about 1/2 of our rice was crunchy - needed more water and occasional stirring, but this could be due to our old pot lids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
Very Nice. Well received dinner at my table. I too saute'd onions and garlic ( left out the ginger because my curry already had sufficient heat ) and browned the chicken. This was excellent with a vegie melange side dish that included green peas and some apples for sweetness to offset the heat of my balti curry powder. The mango was a great addition to the rice. We will have this again .. and it makes a great lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2005
This was sooo good. I had several fresh mangoes on hand and needed a recipe. So where do all the best cooks go? Here of course. I didn't have any parsley or wine on hand. I know, I couldn't believe it either. I doubled up on the broth to make up the difference. The only things I would change is to add more rice. It was wonderful. I cubed my chicken as others suggested and also did the onion\garlic\ginger combo before hand. I also added more curry. Can't tell you how much because I don't measure, but I would guess I doubled the amount called for. Oh I was about to forget the most amazing thing about this recipe. My five year old ate it and LIKED it. Try this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Howard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland Heights, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
I loved this recipe. Especially the rice, I couldn't get enough. I did take the advice to brown the chicken first as well as the onion garlic ginger mixture....I also used a full cup of white wine. I don't think the recipe would could have done without the ginger. Wonderful!! The smell is fantastic and it is so simple. My eight year old loved it too. Next time I think I will cube the chicken or Marinade before hand for a more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
Very yummy and a great meal to make just for yourself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2004
Yummy! I went looking for a recipe to use up my mangos and this hit the spot. I took someone else's advice and browned the seasoned chicken first, then sauteed some chopped onion and...ginger (it said garlic, but I remembered wrong). It was yummy. I went a little heavier on the curry as we're fans and used seasoned salt instead of regular. If it weren't for the kids I'd have added some heat with cayenne. Next time I might dice the chicken up in the rice and serve that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERI KENNELLY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2004
The chicken came out perfectly and very tasty. The only change I would make is to add curry to the rice as well, but this is personal preference since we love curry! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2004
I loved this recipe but I changed it up a bit. First, I browned the chicken in olive oil for a couple minutes per side. I took the chicken out of the pan and added garlic and onions and cooked until carmelized (about four minutes). Then I added the rest of the ingredients. I did not have any wine on hand, so I used ALIZE instead - a blend of natural passion fruit juices and cognac liquor. It really brought out the flavour of the mango. A very nice and easy dish to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Szechuan Mango Chicken

Learn how to make sweet and spicy Szechuan-style chicken and mango.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States