Curried Chicken with Mango Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
Very good. I also tweaked this after reading some other reviews. I chunked the chicken and marinated it with curry, fresh ginger and S&P for an hour. In a skillet I cooked the chicken with some olive oil, removed it and then added 2 cloves of chopped garlic and the rest of the ingredients. I substituted jasmine rice which needs more liquid, so I increased the broth to one 14 ounce can and added equal amounts of water and wine, as needed, re-seasoning with curry, S&P, to taste to the additional liquid. I added the chicken and mango at the last minute to the pan, just stirring to heat the chicken back up. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MERSHK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
This is one of my favorites! Mango is my favorite fruit and it pairs nicely with the curry and other flavors. The only changes I made to this recipe were to cube the chicken before coating it w/the curry powder mixture and to add more curry powder. This gave it a stronger flavor and reduced cooking time. I also used jasmine rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marmoset

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This is really good if the mangos are in season. If your mango is not very good, it does not flavor the chicken properly. However, the recipe is simple and the result very good for a quick evening meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bedford, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
I didn't have any mangoes, but followed the remaining directions and ingredients. This dish was so flavorful, easy, and quick. It is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
Up the seasoning and it's good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
Loved the mango rice portion of the dish. I used jasmine rice, as someone recommended, and it was delish. The chicken wasn't very curried, however. Next time I'll try more curry and add in some garlic to the rub, as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
Just okay. Not a very exciting dish...needs something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
My family enjoys this recipe. We use jasmine rice instead of white rice though. It goes really well with the mango flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2006
Great recipe. Not as good for leftovers as some others, but excellent hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2006
I made this the other night for my boyfriend (who loves mangoes) and I have never seen a bigger smile on his face. I ended up adding about a 1/2 cup of coconut milk at the last 5 minutes and it was absolutely perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K23KoR

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Szechuan Mango Chicken

Learn how to make sweet and spicy Szechuan-style chicken and mango.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States