Curried Chicken Soup with Chickpeas and Cauliflower Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
We would give this recipe a 4 1/2 stars if it were possible. We think we'll add some extra spices and maybe some garlic next time and leave out some of the water in the fast chicken soup base. It was really good. I used the coconut milk and low sodium broth. I also just put in white chicken meat and didn't use a whole chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
I agree with the other reviewer that this recipe needs a bit less water in the Fast Chicken Base, but other than that it was just about perfect! The coconut milk was a great touch that added to the soup's texture as well as the curry powder. I did however use 3 tbsp rather than 2 with the powder, and believe that this added a bit more flavor. Very nice recipe to have in the collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
My boyfriend and I love this soup! In fact, everytime I ask him to get groceries, he comes home with coconut milk and chickpeas, just for this. I've made it with boxed chicken broth before and it's good, while not quite as homey. I also have switched it up by adding leftover curried potatoes when I didn't have chickpeas, it was just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
This was super tasty! I did tweak to our liking by adding 3 TBL curry as others suggested, leaving the extra water out and only using 2 quarts chicken stock. I also added 1 TBL cumin and about 1 cup of cooked rice. Fantastic soup and this one going in rotation around here. Yummy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamidelCaribe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
It had great curry flavor but was still missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Great receipe. However, I did not use the receipe for the fast chicken soup base, I used swanson chicken broth. Not sure how much it affected the taste but I got rave reviews. I also added way more curry then suggested. Probably 3 tablespoons more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
I left out the cilantro because I'm not a fan, but otherwise this is a tasty soup. I put it through the blender for my friend had her wisdom teeth removed and she thought it was fantastic. This soup is even better the next day : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Forbidden Fruit Cocktail

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prince Rupert, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
I used orzo instead of chickpeas and added an extra tablespoon of curry powder. Oh, and I just used chicken breast and cooked it with the vegetables and box chicken broth for the soup base! It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Like the others, less water is advised. To make up for this addition, I added a tsp of garlic power, 2 TBSP of peanut butter & a couple splashes of Maggi seasoning. Also cooked with flat leaf parsley as Cilantro isn't our thing. Finished w/a wege of lime squirted over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ren

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
My family loved this soup! Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States