Curried Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Very yummy. I use a large 12.5 oz can of chicken for my salad. I used a half cup of real bacon bits instead of making bacon. I used 1/2 cup of craisins instead of grapes because grapes are not tasty right now. Additionally, I upped the curry to 1 1/2 teaspoon, the lemon juice to 2 teaspoons, the worcestershire sauce to 1 teaspoon. I added 1/4 teaspoon garlic granules and 1/2 teaspoon onion powder. I also added a handful of toasted walnuts the first time I made it and just now I added a handful pine nuts because I was out of walnuts/pecans/almonds. I think any nut you like makes a nice accent to the salad. It tastes best after sitting over night (minimum). The flavors really sink in after a day or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I made a half-batch. I omitted the bacon because I didn't have time to cook it, and didn't miss it at all! This is exactly the chicken salad recipe I'd been searching for: the perfect mix of sweet, savory and smooth. I look forward to making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
What a find! As suggested, I made the dressing first, cut the mayo in half and doubled the curry, and let it sit while I finished preparing the rest. Added cashews and substituted dehydrated/powder for raw onions and WOW.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
This is an awesome chicken salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Berwick, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
Excellent and easy recipe! I made this for an office full of manly men & I basically quadrupled the recipe. They loved it! I prepared it the night before and I did make just a few changes: I decreased the mayo and subbed sour cream, I left out the onions and I increased the curry powder after making it as written. After tasting it, both my husband and myself felt the curry needed to be more prominent. I served it with pita pockets and pita chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Yummy! A staple at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I changed it a bit because of ingredients on hand - halved sweet cherry tomatoes instead of grapes, and chopped rotisserie chicken instead of straight chicken breasts. Served it with slice of rye bread toasted on one side in a frying pan with a bit of bacon fat. My wife loved it and so did I. I'll do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
This is great! I doctored it up and it tasted fabulous. I cut the mayo in half and added a full heaping tablespoon of cream cheese. I doubled the curry (1/2 is definitely not enough!) added a couple shakes of cumin and a few shakes of chili powder. Yum! Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
This was awesome! I altered the quantities a little bit: I didn't use bacon, though I might try turkey bacon next time. I used 4 cups of chicken. I didn't have celery, so I used pecans for crunch! I cut the 1 cup of grapes in half, I used 3/4 cup of mayo, I used green onion instead of red, and I used about 1 1/2 tsp. of curry powder. K. . .so that's a lot of revisions, but I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
I used less mayo, more curry powder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Basic Chicken Salad

See how to make a simple chicken salad that’s, well, basically delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States