Curried Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Very yummy. I use a large 12.5 oz can of chicken for my salad. I used a half cup of real bacon bits instead of making bacon. I used 1/2 cup of craisins instead of grapes because grapes are not tasty right now. Additionally, I upped the curry to 1 1/2 teaspoon, the lemon juice to 2 teaspoons, the worcestershire sauce to 1 teaspoon. I added 1/4 teaspoon garlic granules and 1/2 teaspoon onion powder. I also added a handful of toasted walnuts the first time I made it and just now I added a handful pine nuts because I was out of walnuts/pecans/almonds. I think any nut you like makes a nice accent to the salad. It tastes best after sitting over night (minimum). The flavors really sink in after a day or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I made a half-batch. I omitted the bacon because I didn't have time to cook it, and didn't miss it at all! This is exactly the chicken salad recipe I'd been searching for: the perfect mix of sweet, savory and smooth. I look forward to making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
What a find! As suggested, I made the dressing first, cut the mayo in half and doubled the curry, and let it sit while I finished preparing the rest. Added cashews and substituted dehydrated/powder for raw onions and WOW.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
This is an awesome chicken salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Berwick, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
Excellent and easy recipe! I made this for an office full of manly men & I basically quadrupled the recipe. They loved it! I prepared it the night before and I did make just a few changes: I decreased the mayo and subbed sour cream, I left out the onions and I increased the curry powder after making it as written. After tasting it, both my husband and myself felt the curry needed to be more prominent. I served it with pita pockets and pita chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Yummy! A staple at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I changed it a bit because of ingredients on hand - halved sweet cherry tomatoes instead of grapes, and chopped rotisserie chicken instead of straight chicken breasts. Served it with slice of rye bread toasted on one side in a frying pan with a bit of bacon fat. My wife loved it and so did I. I'll do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
This is great! I doctored it up and it tasted fabulous. I cut the mayo in half and added a full heaping tablespoon of cream cheese. I doubled the curry (1/2 is definitely not enough!) added a couple shakes of cumin and a few shakes of chili powder. Yum! Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
This was awesome! I altered the quantities a little bit: I didn't use bacon, though I might try turkey bacon next time. I used 4 cups of chicken. I didn't have celery, so I used pecans for crunch! I cut the 1 cup of grapes in half, I used 3/4 cup of mayo, I used green onion instead of red, and I used about 1 1/2 tsp. of curry powder. K. . .so that's a lot of revisions, but I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
I used less mayo, more curry powder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Basic Chicken Salad

See how to make a simple chicken salad that’s, well, basically delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States