Curried Chicken and Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Made with tofu instead of chicken and added yogurt at the very end just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
We double the spices and this is one of our favorites in our rotation. All of our guests have loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Excellent dish! I doubled the spices. I also didn't have yogurt so I left that out. I did add 1/2 c. soy milk in it's stead. The dish was fabulous and will definitely make it again. My daughter loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy L

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
My husband and I truly enjoyed this recipe. Since we like spicy foods, we followed the suggstions of others to double the spices. We could not find black mustard seed, so we used yellow mustard seed as a substitute. Further, we served without the rice. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KrisMarie
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
This recipe tasted good when all was said and done, but I had a totally different experience that many of the other reviewers. I added an onion in the beginning and subbed frozen (drained and thawed) spinach for the chard. I fried the chicken, onion and potato for 15 minutes on medium, and even though the chopped red potato was still hard, I did as the recipe said. 1 cup of yogurt was not enough - there was absolutely no sauce. I added another half cup. Then I covered and continued to cook. However, the potatoes took another 30 minutes and even then they were still a bit crispy! Also, the flavor, which seemed like it would be great, was basically non-exisistent. I added a teaspoon and a half of curry powder. There was next-to-no sauce. I couldn't believe how much food this actually turned out to be. I would have added much more spice in the beginning if I knew how bland it would be. After an hour and half of chopping and cooking, i just wanted to eat the food already! Ultimately, it was too much work for the end result. I'm going back to my trusty jar of curry paste with chicken, tomatoes and onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KrisMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
All four of us liked this, including my kids, so those recipes are always winners. I doubled the reciple and made some substitutions to accommodate what I had on hand - kale for the swiss chard, a can of light coconut milk for the yogurt, a can of diced tomatoes for the plum tomatoes, boneless chicken breasts for the thighs. Next time, I will definitely double the spices and add an onion and probably some grated fresh ginger for a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
Automatically doubled spices because of the reviews. However, didn't have cumin seed, so just used crushed cumin and didn't have mustard seeds. I also added a little yellow curry powder. We had this with coconut jasmine rice...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
will for sure double the spices next time. my potatoes came out fine (all purpose white potato), not mushy. good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Groton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
This was very tastey. I added a whole diced onion in the beginning and I know this may sound wierd but I melted some brie in it instead of yogurt. It gave it excellent flavor and creaminess. Next time I'll also add a bit more spices. I will add this into the regular rotation, thanks for the new recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA
Living In: Pinon Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
I added a chopped yellow onion with the garlic and I doubled all the spices (except the salt). I like my Indian food on the spicy side anyway, and the current spice measurements didn't quite cover the potatoes and the chicken. Good flavors overall though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Coconut Chicken

See how to make quick-and-easy curried chicken.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States