Curried Chicken and Brown Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
by the sounds of the reviews and the ingredients, i thought this recipe would be amazing... It was good, but not as good as it could have been. the chicken needs to be marinated or seasoned or SOMETHING beforehand because it was very bland in the final product. however, the raisins, curry and rice was pretty good. if i tried this again i'd make sure to give the chicken some flavor before mixing it into the casserole. as is, the recipe is very quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
I love this recipe. Very easy to make, very tasty. And healthy! I only add a little more salt (ok, not so healthy). Very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I actually have an almost identical recipe in one of my cookbooks, which happens to be a diet cookbook, except that it also calls for 1/2 cup dried apricots (snip them into pieces) which I think makes it even better. It is a good recipe, and healthy. I am adding more raisins and apricots than called for when I make it again. I might try making it with a different type or types of rice, which I think would make it even better, it would just require more cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Really good, served to company. Cooked rice on stove top while preparing other stuff and when it was almost done combined. Used much less water and some chicken stock. easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
This was excellent! I used regular brown rice and cooked it all on the stovetop in about 55 minutes. I also had to add another 1/2 cup or so of boiling water near the end of cooking time. I cooked the chicken seperately in oil and seasoned with salt, pepper and curry powder and then mixed it in once the rice was cooked. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
This is a wonderful, quick, easy, very tasty curry dish. I've been craving curry but haven't been in a cooking mood. This looked easy and it was. It satisfied my craving too. Whomever said it was blah must have their tastebuds numbed by processed foods. I did it all on the stovetop like another person did (2 cups water and 1 cup regular brown rice) but other than that everything was the same. Hubby said it needed more heat so he added some hot sauce (he adds that to everything) but I thought it was good as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
I am always looking for new dishes to try with my friends... This turned out really good (other than my mistake of using regular brown rice and it didn't get done in the oven, the first time I made it) I made it again today cooking regular brown rice all the way on the top of the stove before mixing it into the rest of the recipe and into the oven... The first time I made it for 9 others and they all liked the flavor... in the future I would always cook the rice on the top of the stove before mixing into the rest... another thing I would do is to mix up the rest of the recipe the night before and let it marinade the chicken... plus makes it so easy to stick in the oven the next day and dinner is done!!! Thanks for the recipe, will use it again in the future!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
My family loved it. My picky son actually had seconds. I did have to increase the amount of curry powder and used diced tomatoes instead of stewed, but otherwise we really enjoyed it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kinston, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
BLAH! This was not good in anyways whatsoever. I thought it sounded fantastic. Healthy food doesnt have to be nasty food. None of the flavors worked together AT ALL. NO harmony whatsoever. My family wouldnt finish their portions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn Star

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
Added mushrooms and frozen broccoli. Only added 2 t curry and may only add 1 1/2 next time. 3 is way too much! My husband said it tasted even better the next day leftover because the flavors had time to meld. Definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States