Curried Chicken and Brown Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS RECIPE! I'm a big curry fan and make it often. It's nice to make it all in one pot and MUCH quicker. I omitted the raisins though. I used a small cinnamon stick instead of ground (as I use in all my curries) and I added some chili powder for a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Stupendous! I'm a complete novice in the kitchen and this was a breeze... and delicious. It had lots of flavor but wasn't overly spicy (the effect of the cinnamon, I think). I modified it a bit to increase the proportion of stewed tomatoes and dried fruit. In addition to raisins, I added dried cranraisins and dried cherries. I suspect it sweetened the overall flavor a fair bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by R. Ian Davis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
I am so happy I found this recipe! I just typed in "cooked brown rice" and "chicken" in the ingredient search, and this was kind of what I was hoping I'd find! Since I'm on Weight Watchers, I'm being very careful about what I eat, and make healthy changes wherever I can. For this one, I used fat-free, sodium-free chicken broth instead of chicken bouillon, but everything else was pretty much the same. Didn't have stewed tomatoes, so just used canned chopped tomatoes in juice, currants instead of raisins, Penzey's FABULOUS Maharajah curry and skipped the bay leaf. Since the rice was already cooked, I just combined everything in a skillet and simmered until the chicken was done (about 10 minutes), then added the rice and popped it in the oven for another 10 minutes. DELICIOUS, and even husband enjoyed it. Thank you, Isybel, for a really great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I've made this once and it probably earned 4 stars but 'm rating this a 5 for the potential. I added about a cup of cauliflower which was a nice addition. I also added a can of tomato sauce. I think it needs 2 cubes of chicken bouillon and probably a tbsp of cumin. I will also add chopped onion next time. I started it in the skillet and just put the whole skillet in the oven covered in foil to finish it, so I didn't dirty 2 pans. Do stir it often. I almost didn't add the raisins since I don't usually like fruit mixed with savory dishes but I wish I had added more, they really do make it special!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This was delicious! I used regular brown rice which I soaked for about an hour in water first, and low-sodium chicken broth which I substituted for the water and boullion cube. Golden raisins looked nice and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
I like the complex flavors though simple preparation. I used fresh tomatoes from my garden because we had so much but then had to guess at the liquid. It worked out fine. It's very forgiving as long as the rice is cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
This was good and I will probably make it again. I used frozen peas instead of raisins and diced canned tomatoes instead of stewed. My husband really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
This is pretty good -- not great. Okay for every day. Not the party fare I was hoping to discover. I used 1 cup of chicken broth instead of water + boullion. I used a 14.5 oz. can of diced tomatoes, because that is what I had on hand. I used 1 cup of white rice, as I didn't think the brown would cook quickly enough. I substituted a 9 oz. package of short cuts already cooked chicken for the raw chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Absolutely Delicious! Easy, inexpensive, healthy, and fast to prepare. This dish is a keeper~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Oh MY! I am eating leftovers of this right now from last night's dinner and it is STILL divine! This is comfort food without the guilt! Rice cooks completely, chicken has great flavor, you don't miss a bit of the fat or calories! Lemon juice gives it a bright, irresistible flavor! Will definitely be making this again. Also thinking of trying it "Cajun Style" with sausage & shrimp or sausage & chicken... Great method & GREAT taste!!! Thanks for posting!!! By the way...served along with some sauteed red bells & onions seasoned with cumin, coriander, S&P, added fresh garlic, chicken stock & lemon juice at the end. AWESOME complement!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States